Grateful Dead Reckoning (Expanded & Remastered) (2-CD)

Reckoning (Expanded & Remastered) (2-CD)
16 ratings
Price: $23.38
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  327JQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 11, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Grateful Dead / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.153
"[I]t's the acoustic segment that shines; It's almost a primer, with crowd-pleasing songs from the previous decade and the odd surprise....The band's interaction is magical and intuitive..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Dire Wolf
  • 2.Race Is On
  • 3.Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie
  • 4.It Must Have Been the Roses
  • 5.Dark Hollow
  • 6.China Doll
  • 7.Been All Around This World
  • 8.Monkey and The Engineer
  • 9.Jack-A-Roe
  • 10.Deep Elem Blues
  • 11.Cassidy
  • 12.To Lay Me Down
  • 13.Rosalie McFall
  • 14.On the Road Again
  • 15.Bird Song

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.To Lay Me Down (Studio Rehearsal)(Bonus Track)
  • 2.Iko Iko (Bonus Track)
  • 3.Heaven Help the Fool (Bonus Track)
  • 4.El Paso (Bonus Track)
  • 5.Sage & Spirit (Bonus Track)
  • 6.Little Sadie (Bonus Track)
  • 7.It Must Have Been the Roses (Alternate Live Version)(Bonus Track)
  • 8.Dark Hollow (Alternate Live Version)(Bonus Track)
  • 9.Jack-A-Roe (Alternate Live Version)(Bonus Track)
  • 10.Cassidy (Alternate Live Version)(Bonus Track)
  • 11.China Doll (Alternate Live Version)(Bonus Track)
  • 12.Monkey and The Engineer (Live Version)(Bonus Track)
  • 13.Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie (Alternate Live Version)(Bonus Track)
  • 14.Ripple (Alternate Live Version)(Bonus Track)
  • 15.Tom Dooley (Bonus Track)
  • 16.Deep Elem Blues (Alternate Live Version)(Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Grateful Dead: Jerry Garcia (guitar, vocals); Bob Weir (guitar, vocals); Brent Mydland (keyboards); Phil Lesh (bass); Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann (drums, percussion).
Recorded live at The Warfield Theater, San Francisco, California between September 25 and October 14, 1980; and at Radio City Music Hall, New York between October 23 and October 31, 1980.
Audio Mixers: Dan Healy ; Tom Flye.
Liner Note Author: Gary Lambert.
Recording information: Club Front, San Rafael, CA (11/17/1978-10/31/1980); Radio City Music Hall, New York, NY (11/17/1978-10/31/1980); Rambler Room, Loyola University, Chicago, IL (11/17/1978-10/31/1980); The Warfield Theatre, San Francisco, CA (11/17/1978-10/31/1980).
Photographers: Jay Blakesberg; John Werner ; Richard McCaffrey; Larry Hulst; Robert Minkin.
Arrangers: Jerry Garcia; Grateful Dead; Robert Hunter.
By late '79, the Dead were beginning a new phase of their existence, with the addition of keyboardist/vocalist Brent Mydland, who added some bluesy grit to the band's sound. This 1980 live document presents the band in a rare acoustic set that finds Mydland settling in nicely, and the other members sounding distinctly invigorated, despite the homey, back-porch arrangements. To complement the stripped down circumstances, the Dead reached into both their folk bag and the more traditional-sounding corners of their own catalog. The traditional "Jack-A-Roe" and "Deep Elem Blues" are given respectful but lively treatments. Beautiful Hunter-Garcia ballads "China Doll" and "It Must've Been the Roses" are rendered with poignancy. "Dire Wolf" and "Dark Hollow" (among others) make a convincing case for the Dead as the godfathers of alt-country.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227328221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)