Buddy Holly The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection
20 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $10.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.34 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $3.64 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HCSE
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Geffen Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Midnight Shift
  • Buy for $0.992.Rock Around With Ollie Vee
  • Buy for $1.293.That'll Be The Day
  • Buy for $0.994.I'm Looking For Someone To Love
  • Buy for $1.295.Words Of Love
  • Buy for $1.296.Not Fade Away
  • Buy for $1.297.Everyday
  • Buy for $0.998.Listen To Me
  • Buy for $1.299.Oh Boy!
  • Buy for $1.2910.Peggy Sue
  • Buy for $0.9911.I'm Gonna Love You Too
  • Buy for $0.9912.Look At Me
  • Buy for $1.2913.Maybe Baby
  • Buy for $1.2914.Rave On
  • Buy for $0.9915.Fool's Paradise
  • Buy for $0.9916.Take Your Time
  • Buy for $0.9917.Well...All Right
  • Buy for $0.9918.Think It Over
  • Buy for $0.9919.Early In The Morning
  • Buy for $0.9920.Heartbeat
  • Buy for $1.2921.It's So Easy
  • Buy for $0.9922.Wishing
  • Buy for $0.9923.Love's Made A Fool Of You
  • Buy for $1.2924.True Love Ways
  • Buy for $1.2925.It Doesn't Matter Anymore
  • Buy for $0.9926.Raining In My Heart

Product Description:

Personnel: Buddy Holly (vocals, guitar); George Barnes, Al Caiola, Sonny Curtis, Tommy Allsup, Al Chernet (guitar); Julius Held, Leo Kruczek, Leonard Posner, Herbert Bourne, Ray Free, Paul Winter Consort, Irving Spice (violin); David Schwartz , Howard Kay (viola); Maurice Bialkin, Maurice Brown (cello); Abraham Richman, Sam "The Man" Taylor (tenor saxophone); Vi Petty (piano, celesta); Ernie Hayes (piano); Norman Petty (organ); Jerry Allison (drums, percussion); Douglas Kirkham, Bob "Crow" Clarke, Clifford Leman, Panama Francis, Phil Kraus (drums); Ray Bush's BBC Jazz, David Bingham, Gary Tollet, Ramona Tollet, June Clark, Bob Linville, John Pickering, Bob Lapham, The Helen Way Singers, William Marine, Robert Bollinger, Abby Hoffer, Merril Ostrus, Robert Harter, Bill Pickering, Niki Sullivan, The Roses (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Billy Altman.
Recording information: Clovis, NM (01/26/1956-10/21/1958); Nashville, TN (01/26/1956-10/21/1958); New York, NY (01/26/1956-10/21/1958); Tinker Air Force Bass, Oklahoma City, OK (01/26/1956-10/21/1958).
Notable for its unusual cover, which features a rare photo of Buddy Holly without his signature spectacles, THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION presents an excellent selection of the rock & roll legend's finest moments, recorded in the brief period between early 1956 and late '58, just months before his death in February of '59. Although Holly's hits--including the vibrant tunes "That'll Be the Day," "Not Fade Away," and "Rave On"--are present, they are chronologically interspersed among lesser-known tracks such as the rockabilly-tinged "Midnight Shift" and the organ-laden "Take Your Time," tracing the entire trajectory of Holly's tragically short career. While not as thorough as the two-disc GOLD set, this 2006 release offers eight more songs than the concise GREATEST HITS, making it the ideal intermediate compilation.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Buddy Holly

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,780
  • UPC: 602498820988
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)