Loudon Wainwright III Career Moves (Live)

Career Moves (Live)
9 ratings
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HCJW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Loudon Wainwright III ~ Album III ~ $5.97 (Save 25%)
  • by Loudon Wainwright III ~ Attempted Mustache ~ $5.97 (Save 25%)
  • by Loudon Wainwright III ~ History ~ $10.78
  • by Loudon Wainwright III ~ Unrequited ~ $5.97 (Save 25%)

CD Details

  • Released: August 3, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: EMI Europe Generic

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/23/93, p.156
"...Acerbic humor delivered with Buster Keaton-deadpan irony still forms a basis for his eternal coffee-club act, but the tears of this clown are real - and conveyed with all the trenchant economy of a short-story master...."
Q - 8/93, p.101
4 Stars - Excellent - "...this set is a joy...Wainwright deserves every acclamation he's been granted and every nickel he's been tossed..."


  • 1.Road Ode
  • 2.I'm Alright
  • 3.Five Years Old
  • 4.Your Mother
  • 5.Westchester County
  • 6.He Said, She Said
  • 7.Christmas Rap
  • 8.Suddenly It's Christmas
  • 9.Thanksgiving
  • 10.A Fine Celtic Name
  • 11.T.S.M.N.W.A.
  • 12.Some Balding Guys
  • 13.The Swimming Song
  • 14.Absence Makes The Heart Grow Fonder
  • 15.Happy Birthday Elvis
  • 16.Fabulous Songs
  • 17.Unhappy Anniversary
  • 18.I'd Rather Be Lonely
  • 19.Just Say No
  • 20.April Fool's Day Morn
  • 21.The Man Who Couldn't Cry
  • 22.The Acid Song
  • 23.Tip That Waitress
  • 24.Career Moves

Product Description:

Personnel: Loudon Wainwright III (vocals, guitar); Chaim Tannenbaum (vocals, banjo, harmonica); David Mansfield (fiddle, dobro, mandolin).
Producers: Jeffrey Lesser, Loudon Wainwright III.
Engineers: Jeffrey Lesser, Kooster McAllister.
Recorded live at The Bottom Line, New York on January 8, 1993. Includes liner notes by Loudon Wainwright III.
A dozen years after his first live release (A LIVE ONE), Loudon Wainwright released this excellent set. As with its predecessor, the album is an exemplary look at Wainwright's career up to the point of the album's release. CAREER MOVES is a generous helping of 19 songs, and includes six new ones. The album was recorded on a single night at one of his regular and favored venues, New York City's Bottom Line, and benefits from the contributions of multi-instrumentalists Chaim Tannenbaum and David Mansfield.
Throughout, Wainwright's casual ease shines through as he toys with his own songs and jokes with the audience. With a wealth of material to draw from, he offers old favorites such as "The Swimming Song" and "The Man Who Couldn't Cry" (which Johnny Cash covered, closing his AMERICAN RECORDINGS the following year), and obscurities like "The Acid Song." He especially shines on delicately emotional autobiographical numbers like "Westchester County," "Five Years Old," "April Fool's Day Morn." CAREER MOVES is an excellent introduction to Wainwright's work, as well as an engaging set for those already familiar.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Loudon Wainwright III

Product Info

  • UPC: 077778827320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)