Sarah Vaughan The Benny Carter Sessions: The Explosive Side of Sarah Vaughan / The Lonely Hours

The Benny Carter Sessions: The Explosive Side of
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HCJ8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.I Believe In You
  • 2.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 3.Moonlight On The Ganges
  • 4.The Lady's In Love With You
  • 5.After You've Gone
  • 6.A Garden In The Rain
  • 7.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 8.Trolley Song
  • 9.I'm Gonna Live Until I Die
  • 10.Falling In Love With Love
  • 11.Great Day
  • 12.Nobody Else But Me
  • 13.Lonely Hours
  • 14.I'll Never Be The Same
  • 15.If I Had You
  • 16.Friendless
  • 17.You're Driving Me Crazy
  • 18.Always On My Mind
  • 19.Look For Me, I'll Be Around
  • 20.What'll I Do
  • 21.Solitude
  • 22.These Foolish Things Remind Me Of You
  • 23.The Man I Love
  • 24.So Long My Love

Product Description:

THE BENNY CARTER SESSIONS is a digitally remixed collection of two separate Sarah Vaughan releases: 1962's THE EXPLOSIVE SIDE OF SARAH VAUGHAN and 1963's THE LONELY HOURS.
Recorded in Los Angeles in August, 1962 and June 13-16, 1963. Originally released as 2 separate LPs. Includes liner notes by Leslie Gourse.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Sarah Vaughan (vocals).
Recording information: 08/??/1962-07/16/1963.
Arranger: Benny Carter .
Sarah Vaughan's two Roulette orchestra sessions that featured Benny Carter arrangements (The Explosive Side of Sarah Vaughan and The Lonely Hours) are reissued in full on The Benny Carter Sessions from 1994. The unidentified musicians (which include strings on the second set) are chiefly accompanists behind the frequently miraculous singer. The "explosive" album (which mostly does not live up to its billing) is the better of the two dates with more variety and highlights in songs such as "Honeysuckle Rose," "The Lady's in Love with You," "I Can't Give You Anything but Love" and a spirited "Trolley Song." The later set is more ballad-oriented and less memorable, though it does offer a classic rendition of "Solitude." Throughout, Vaughan is in prime voice, overcoming the weaker material and uplifting the more superior songs. Not essential but Sarah Vaughan fans will enjoy this reissue. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sarah Vaughan

Product Info

  • UPC: 724382864028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)