Blind Boys Of Alabama 1948-1951

10% OFF
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  FLW 946
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: July 1, 1996
  • Label: Flyright Records


  • 1.I Want My Crown
  • 2.What More Can Jesus Do
  • 3.Don't Wonder About Him
  • 4.I Have An Interest Over There
  • 5.Death Has Taken Mother Home
  • 6.What Manner Of Man Is This
  • 7.Living On Mother's Prayer
  • 8.Honey In The Rock
  • 9.Jesus Won't Deny Me
  • 10.Anyhow
  • 11.Blessed Be The Name
  • 12.Good Religion
  • 13.No More Tears No More Dying
  • 14.Come Over Here
  • 15.Canaan Land
  • 16.Leave Your Burden There

Product Description:

Recorded between 1948 and 1951.
Personnel: Clarence Fountain, Rev. Paul Exkano (vocals); George Scott (tenor); Olice Thomas (baritone); Rev. George W. Warren (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Ray Funk.
Recording information: Newark, NJ (04/1948-??/1951); Philadelphia, PA (04/1948-??/1951).
Photographer: Ray Funk.
These first recordings of the legendary gospel quintet feature the Five Blind Boys of Alabama performing a variety of classics, including "What Manner of Man Is This," "What More Can Jesus Do," and "Honey in the Rock," mostly a cappella or with minimal organ or guitar accompaniment. Made at the start of a career that was to stretch well into the 21st century, these early sides display a vitality and simple faith that still sounds emotionally moving decades later.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 1.7
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Blind Boys Of Alabama

Product Info:

  • UPC: 008637194628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item