Buddy Rich Big Swing Face (Live)

Big Swing Face (Live)
28 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $10.79
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  H7FG
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 10/96, p.46
4 Stars - Very Good - "...The real pleasure is the band. Here is overwhelming evidence of the difference a drummer can make in a mass of trumpets and saxes....Rich's mark remains no less evident here than it was a generation earlier in the Artie Shaw band."


  • 1.Norwegian Wood
  • 2.Big Swing Face
  • 3.Monitor Theme
  • 4.Wack Wack
  • 5.Love For Sale
  • 6.Mexicali Nose
  • 7.Willowcrest
  • 8.The Beat Goes On
  • 9.Bugle Call Rag
  • 10.Standing Up In A Hammock
  • 11.Chicago
  • 12.Lament For Lester
  • 13.Machine
  • 14.Silver Threads Among The Blues
  • 15.New Blues
  • 16.Old Timey
  • 17.Loose
  • 18.Apples (aka Gino)

Product Description:

Buddy Rich Big Band: Buddy Rich (drums); Quinn Davis (alto sax); Ernie Watts (alto sax, flute); Jay Corre, Robert Keller (tenor sax, flute); Marty Flax (baritone sax), Bobby Shew, Yoshito Murakami, Charles Findley, John Scottile (trumpet); Jim Trimble, Ron Meyers (trombone); Bill Wimberly (bass trombone); Ray Starling (piano); Richard Resnicoff (guitar); James Gannon (bass).
Additional personnel: Cathy Rich (vocals).
Reissue producers: Bob Belden, Dean Pratt.
Recorded at United Recording and live at the Chez Club, Hollywood, California on February 22-25 and March 10, 1967. Includes liner notes by Dean Pratt.
Personnel: Buddy Rich (drums); Richie Resnicoff (guitar); Ernie Watts (flute, alto saxophone); Robert Keller , Jay Corre, Bob Keller (flute, tenor saxophone); Quinn Davis (alto saxophone); Marty Flax (baritone saxophone); Chuck Findley, John Scottile, Yoshito Murakami, Bobby Shew (trumpet); James Trimble (trombone); Bill Wimberly (bass trombone); Ray Starling (piano).
Liner Note Author: Dean Pratt.
Recording information: Chez Club, Hollywood, CA (02/22/1967-03/10/1967); The Chez Club, Hollywood, CA (02/22/1967-03/10/1967); United Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (02/22/1967-03/10/1967); Untied Recording, Hollywood, CA (02/22/1967-03/10/1967).
Photographer: Fred Seligo.
Arrangers: Don Piestrup; Don Rader; Arthur M. Wiggins; Bill Reddy; Jay Corre; Harry Betts; Shorty Rogers; Bill Holman; Bill Potts; Bill Reddie; Bob Florence.
Big Swing Face not only reissues the second recording by Buddy Rich & His Big Band but doubles the program with nine previously unissued performances from the same engagement at the Chez Club in Hollywood. Rich's orchestra was in its early prime, displaying a very impressive ensemble sound, charts by Bill Holman, Shorty Rogers, Bob Florence, Bill Potts and others, and such soloists as altoist Ernie Watts (a newcomer), trumpeter Bobby Shew, Jay Corre on tenor and the remarkable drummer/leader. Even with the presence of "Norwegian Wood" and "The Beat Goes On" (the latter features Rich's teenage daughter Cathe on a vocal), this is very much a swinging set. Rich has some outstanding solos and lots of drum breaks but does not hog the spotlight; he was justifiably proud of his band. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Buddy Rich

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,905
  • UPC: 724383798926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)