Duke Ellington Anatomy of a Murder [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Anatomy of a Murder [Original Motion Picture
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  VAXD
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 4, 2009
  • Label: Sony Uk/Zoom

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/12/01, p.36
Ranked #44 in EW's "100 Best Movie Soundtracks" - "...Sometimes brassy, sometimes lurid, always brilliant..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 6/02, p.64
Included in Mojo's "100 Coolest Movie Soundtracks" - "...The compositions underline every on-screen moment yet breathe in an environment well away from the front stalls..."


  • 1.Main Title / Anatomy of a Murder
  • 2.Flirtibird
  • 3.Way Early Subtone
  • 4.Hero to Zero
  • 5.Low Key Lightly
  • 6.Happy Anatomy [Band / Movie][Version]
  • 7.Midnight Indigo
  • 8.Almost Cried [Studio]
  • 9.Sunswept Sunday
  • 10.Grace Valse
  • 11.Happy Anatomy [P. I. Five][Version]
  • 12.Haupe
  • 13.Upper and Outest
  • 14.Anatomy of a Murder [Stereo Single]
  • 15.Merrily Rolling Along (aka Hero to Zero) / Sunswept Sunday [Movie Stings
  • 16.Beer Garden
  • 17.Happy Anatomy [Band / Studio][Version]
  • 18.Polly (aka Grace Valse, Haupe, Low Key Lightly, Midnight Indigo)
  • 19.Polly [Movie Stings][Version]
  • 20.Happy Anatomy [Dixieland][Version]
  • 21.More Blues [P. I. Five][Version]
  • 22.Almost Cried (aka Flirtibird)
  • 23.Sound Track Music: Anatomy of a Murder
  • 24.Anatomy of a Murder [Mono Single: in Stereo]
  • 25.The Grand Finale (Rehearsal / Lines / Interview / Music / Stings / Murder)
  • 26.[Pause Track]

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano, celeste); Russell Procope (alto saxophone, clarinet); Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Paul Gonsalves (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone); Shorty Baker, Clark Terry, Ray Nance, William "Cat" Anderson (trumpet); John Sanders, Quentin Jackson, Britt Woodman (trombone); Billy Strayhorn (piano); Jimmy Woode (bass); Jimmy Johnson (drums).
Producer: Irving Townsend.
Reissue producer: Phil Schaap.
Includes liner notes by Irving Townsend, Wynton Marsalis and Phil Schaap.
Digitally remastered by Debra Parkinson (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
This was Ellington's first film score, undertaken at the urging of ANATOMY OF A MURDER's director, Otto Preminger. The full range of the composer's previous work was brought to bear on the 1959 work. Ellington was a natural choice to convey the rich and varied emotional moods of this drama. Tension and release, danger and safety, movement and stillness, darkness and light; the textural palette that was Ellington's signature as a writer and arranger was always compellingly cinematic.
In these orchestral settings, Duke's soloists (Cat Anderson, Clark Terry, Johnny Hodges, Harry Carney and others) shine, as their playing reflects true variations on a theme in a classical sense. That's not to say that this set doesn't swing as well--"Happy Anatomy" is a short but fully cranked gallop. This is an album of rich variety and evocative writing.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info

  • UPC: 886975696727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)