Beauty and the Beat! [Bonus Tracks]

Beauty and the Beat! [Bonus Tracks]
10% OFF
Rating 4.7
34 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  BLUN 42308
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Do I Love You?
  • 2.I Lost My Sugar In Salt Lake City
  • 3.If Dreams Come True
  • 4.All Too Soon
  • 5.Mambo In Miami
  • 6.Isn't It Romantic?
  • 7.Blue Prelude
  • 8.You Came A Long Way From St. Louis
  • 9.Always True To You In My Fashion
  • 10.There'll Be Another Spring
  • 11.Get Out of Town
  • 12.Satin Doll
  • 13.Nobody's Heart
  • 14.Don't Ever Leave Me

Product Description:

This reissue presents the original studio recording without any live audience ambience and applause overdubs.
Personnel: Peggy Lee (vocals); George Shearing (piano); Toots Thielmans (guitar); Ray Alexander (vibraphone); Carl Pruitt (bass); Ray Mosca (drums); Armando Peraza (congas, percussion).
Recorded on May 28-30, 1959. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
Personnel: Peggy Lee (vocals); George Shearing (piano); Ray Alexander (vibraphone); Ray Mosca (drums); Armando Peraza (congas, percussion).
Audio Remixer: Ron McMaster.
Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Recording information: Miami Disc Jockey's Convention (05/28/1959-05/30/1959).
Peggy Lee is heard here singing before a live audience, accompanied by the top-drawer piano of George Shearing. Cole Porter's "Do I Love You?" is transformed by Lee's relaxed voice and the Shearing quintet's delicate bounce. The music seems to become a multi-sensory experience; "If Dreams Come True" could fool you into thinking you were running through a field of clover on a sunny spring day.
Lee has impeccable taste in material; "All Too Soon," an engaging piece of Ellingtonia, is a typical example. Her performance of "I Lost My Sugar in Salt Lake City" is a stirring blues predating her studio recording by three years while Shearing's piano and quintet mirror Lee's gentle emotions on "There'll Be Another Spring"; the sensitive backing is perfect.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 34 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Peggy Lee

Product Info:

  • UPC: 724354230820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item