Nina Simone Angel of The Morning - The Best of [Import]

Angel of The Morning - The Best of [Import]
Price: $13.52
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $0.47 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  J8W9
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Sony Uk


  • 1.To Be Young Gifted and Black
  • 2.I Loves You Porgy
  • 3.In The Morning
  • 4.I Think It's Going To Rain Today
  • 5.Angel of The Morning
  • 6.Go To Hell
  • 7.I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free
  • 8.Suzanne
  • 9.The Backlash Blues
  • 10.Cherish
  • 11.Revolutionparts 1 & 2
  • 12.Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues
  • 13.Sunday In Savannah
  • 14.I Get Along Without You Very Well (Except Sometimes)
  • 15.Everyone's Gone To The Moon
  • 16.The Gin House Blues
  • 17.Blues For Mama
  • 18.Here Comes The Sun
  • 19.I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl
  • 20.I Can't See Nobody
  • 21.Just Like A Woman
  • 22.Nobody's Fault But Mine
  • 23.I Shall Be Released
  • 24.Do What You Gotta Do
  • 25.My Man's Gone Now
  • 26.The Turning Point
  • 27.It Be's That Way Sometimes
  • 28.Please Read Me
  • 29.Day and Night
  • 30.Do I Move You
  • 31.Since I Fell For You
  • 32.Mississippi Goddam
  • 33.My Sweet Lord
  • 34.Mr Bojangles
  • 35.To Love Somebody
  • 36.Seems I'm Never Tired of Loving You

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Patrick Humphries.
Angel of the Morning, issued in the EU by Camden Deluxe, is, for all practical purposes, a solid collection of Nina Simone's recordings for RCA, covering the years 1966-1974. These years are not critically regarded as her best -- those are usually reserved for her Colpix and Philips recordings. To the enthusiastic or even new listener to Simone's artistry, that distinction means little. This is representative of a period in which Simone was riding the charts, and making an impact on audiences all over the world not only for her jazz and blues material -- which included many originals as well as covers and spirituals -- but also for her unique and even iconoclastic interpretations of then contemporary popular songs such as Leonard Cohen's "Suzanne," Jerry Jeff Walker's "Mr. Bojangles," Bob Dylan's "Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues," and the title tune, written by Chip Taylor. There are numerous songs that are regarded as Simone's standards in the package as well, including "To Be Young, Gifted and Black" and "Backlash Blues." Some of her best-known performances are songs she cut several times in her long career. And while some of these are not the original versions, these are excellent performances nonetheless. Check her readings of two tunes from George Gershwin's Porgy and Bess for evidence in "I Loves You, Porgy" and "My Man's Gone Now." Given the price and the solid remastering, this is as good an introduction to Nina Simone's work as any. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Nina Simone

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 30,801
  • UPC: 886974670421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)