Rick Astley The Ultimate Collection

The Ultimate Collection
5 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.74 Limited Time Only
List Price: $10.99
You Save: $1.25 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  328QC
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sony BMG Europe


  • 1.Never Gonna Give You Up
  • 2.Together Forever
  • 3.My Arms Keep Missing You
  • 4.Whenever You Need Somebody
  • 5.She Wants To Dance With Me
  • 6.When I Fall In Love
  • 7.Cry For Help
  • 8.Take Me To Your Heart
  • 9.It Would Take A Strong Strong Man
  • 10.Hold Me In Your Arms
  • 11.Hopelessly
  • 12.Move Right Out
  • 13.The Ones You Love
  • 14.Never Knew Love
  • 15.Body And Soul
  • 16.Vincent
  • 17.Full Of You

Product Description:

Personnel: Robert Ahwai, Simon Hill , Jacob Andersen, Craig Young , Hywell Maggs, Lars Danielson, Dan Higgins , Dan Petty, Dave West, Dee Lewis, Jim Williams, Larry Hall , Larry Williams , Mark Jaimes, Phil Perry, Rob Fisher, Philip Todd, Tim Lauer, Carol Kenyon, Kevin Dorsey , Per Lindvall, Richard Cottle, Shannon Forrest, William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach Jr. .
Audio Mixers: Peter Hammond; Gary Langan; Gary Stevenson; Mark McGuire ; Phil Harding; Ren Swan; Tom Lord-Alge.
Rick Astley was one of the more distinctive acts from the Stock, Aitken & Waterman stable of singers and groups from the late 1980s. While it was true that Kylie Minogue went on to have a consistent long lasting, almost unbroken series of hits, and artists like Bananarama, Donna Summer, and Cliff Richard were famous long before SAW got their production teeth into them, Rick Astley had seven Top Ten hits in the '80s and a brief comeback with a different image in 1991, and it was generally accepted that his voice would have made him a star, whatever the production background. It was inevitable that with the wave of nostalgia of all things from the '80s that swept through the music industry in the 2000s, Astley would be one of the artists given the reissue treatment, and in spring 2008 came Ultimate Collection, a 17-track compilation that included every one of his nine Top Ten singles as well as the four lesser hits in the '90s. However, it was in 2002 that a Greatest Hits collection was first released and charted briefly, if only for four weeks, and this too included all 13 hit singles. Then in 2006 came Together Forever: The Best of Rick Astley, a double album, 36-track compilation that strangely omitted "My Arms Keep Missing You," the dance track on the other side of the ballad "When I Fall in Love," the latter track being remembered for one of the most political chart moves in recent times as EMI saw the Rick Astley song on the rival RCA label was destined for the Christmas number one in 1987 and began heavily promoting their original version by Nat King Cole, thus splitting the sales and allowing their own act, the Pet Shop Boys to hit number one with the most un-Christmassy "Always of My Mind," a move that nearly backfired when the Pogues' "Fairytale of New York" came up on the rails and nearly topped the Christmas chart for yet another company, Warner Brothers. The 2008 Rick Astley album, Ultimate Collection almost followed a chronological list of his hits, opening with his biggest in both the U.K. and U.S., "Never Gonna Give You Up" and followed this with his other U.S. number one "Together Forever," slipping "Whenever You Need Somebody" at track number four, and placing the two main ballads, "When I Fall in Love" and "Cry for Help" together on the album after the rest of the formula Stock, Aitken & Waterman dance hits. The minor '90s hit were all featured late in the album's running order just before his self-composed "Body and Sou,l" the previously unreleased "Full of You", and the Don McLean classic "Vincent." ~ Sharon Mawer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Rick Astley

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,073
  • UPC: 886973038024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.16/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)