Holly Cole Dark Dear Heart

Dark Dear Heart
19 ratings
Price: $10.79
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HFWA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/27/97, p.111
3 Stars (out of 5) - "...sultry minimalism....it's Cole's vocals that define the album; avoiding both stiff reverence and kitsch, she consistently proves that delivering a lyric is as much a creative art as writing one."
Entertainment Weekly - 11/21/97, p.137
"Cole's fourth studio album reinvents the Canadian cabaret chanteuse as a thinking person's pop diva, integrating slick production while keeping the focus on her duskily expressive voice..." - Rating: B


  • 1.I've Just Seen A Face
  • 2.Make It Go Away
  • 3.Onion Girl
  • 4.Dark, Dear Heart
  • 5.You Want More
  • 6.Timbuktu
  • 7.World Seems To Come And Go
  • 8.River
  • 9.Hold On
  • 10.Brighter Lonely Day (Run, Run, Run)
  • 11.I Told Him That My Dog Wouldn't Run
  • 12.All The Pretty Little Horses

Product Description:

Personnel: Holly Cole (vocals); Mark Kelso (vocals, drums, tambourine); Steve Tavaglione (soprano saxophone); Jon Hassell (trumpet); Kevin Breit (autoharp, acoustic & electric guitars, banjo, bazouki, loops); Aaron Davis (piano, Wurlitzer piano, Fender Rhodes, Hammond B-3 organ); Jim Cox (Wurlitzer piano, Hammond B-3 organ); Larry Klein (organ); David Piltch (guitar, mandolin, bass); Dean Parks (guitar, 6 string bass); Greg Leisz (electric & pedal steel guitars); George Koller (bass); Iki Levy (drums, programming, loops); Helik Hadar (drums, programming); Alex Brown, Mona Lisa Young (background vocals).
Recorded at McClear Pathe Studios, Toronto, Canada; House of Blues, Encino, California; Worstword Ho!, Los Angeles, California.
Song stylist Cole reaches into the catalogs of some of pop's finest composers on DARK DEAR HEART. The album opens with a technofied version of the Beatles classic "I've Just Seen A Face" that's deconstructed enough to make Paul turn over his grave (oops, he's not dead). There are two cuts from the criminally underrated Mary Margaret O'Hara (including the engrossing title tune) as well as the Joni Mitchell evergreen "River." The Joni connection runs a bit deeper, as DARK DEAR HEART was produced by Mitchell's ex-husband/producer/bass player Larry Klein, whose work here is a bit more straightforward and pop-oriented than his collaborations with his ex. Throughout, there are moments of jazzy acoustic introspection contrasted by state-of-the-art Adult Contempo-pop.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Holly Cole

Product Info

  • UPC: 724385736520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)