Count Basie The Complete Atomic Basie

The Complete Atomic Basie
27 ratings
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.41 (3% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  329CE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 16, 2015
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.The Kid From Red Bank
  • 2.Duet
  • 3.After Supper
  • 4.Flight Of The Foo Birds
  • 5.Double-O
  • 6.Teddy The Toad
  • 7.Whirly-Bird
  • 8.Midnite Blue
  • 9.Splanky
  • 10.Fantail
  • 11.Li'l Darlin'
  • 12.Silks And Satins
  • 13.Sleepwalker's Serenade (Alternate Take)
  • 14.Sleepwalker's Serenade
  • 15.The Late Late Show
  • 16.The Late Late Show (Vocal Version)

Product Description:

Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Joe Williams (vocals); Wendell Culley, Snooky Young, Thad Jones, Joe Newman (trumpet); Henry Coker, Al Grey, Benny Powell (trombone); Marshall Royal, Frank Wess, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, Frank Foster, Charles Fowlkes (reeds); Freddie Green (guitar); Eddie Jones (bass); Sonny Payne (drums).
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded at Capitol Studios, New York, New York between October 21 & 22, 1957. Includes liner by Barry Ulanov & Michael Cuscuna.
Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Joe Williams (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Joe Newman (trumpet); Henry Coker, Al Grey, Benny Powell (trombone); Sonny Payne (drums).
This 1957 release features Neal Hefti's arrangements and the ever-exciting sound of what became known as the Second Testament Basie Band (the first having featured Lester Young, Herschel Evans, Dicky Wells et al). The album opens with a fiery version of "The Kid from Red Bank"; other highlights include "Whirly-Bird" and "Teddy the Toad." As usual, Count Basie's stride-inflected piano style and the brass section's sudden, sharp stabs help define the band's sound.
The COMPLETE ATOMIC BASIE isn't just about screaming high notes and blistering scale flourishes though; subtlety and dynamic variety characterize several charts. We hear this best in the reeds' lilting swing on "Midnite Blue," and in the quiet, mellow groove of "Li'l Darlin'"; the sparseness of the latter's arrangement highlights the often-neglected guitarist Freddie Green's inimitable strumming. One of Basie's finest albums, THE COMPLETE ATOMIC BASIE is a swinging gem.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 27 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info

  • UPC: 724382863526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)