Chet Baker Chet Baker And Crew

Chet Baker And Crew
2 ratings
Price: $12.05
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32996
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: EMI Mod Afw


  • 1.To Mickey's Memory
  • 2.Slightly Above Moderate
  • 3.Halema
  • 4.Revelation
  • 5.Something For Liza
  • 6.Lucius Lu
  • 7.Worryin' The Life Out Of Me
  • 8.Medium Rock
  • 9.To Micky's Memory (Alternate Take)
  • 10.Jumpin' Off A Clef
  • 11.Chippyin'
  • 12.Pawnee Junction
  • 13.Music To Dance By
  • 14.Line For Lyons

Product Description:

Personnel: Chet Baker (vocals, trumpet); Phil Urso (tenor saxophone); Bobby Timmons (piano); Jimmy Bond (bass); Peter Littman (drums); Bill Loughbrough (tympani).
Recorded at the Forum Theater, Los Angeles, California on July 24, 25 & 31, 1956. Includes original liner notes by Woody Woodward.
This astounding live set was recorded with Chet Baker's regularly touring ensemble at the Forum Theater in Los Angeles in 1956, after the trumpeter's return from an extensive European tour. The group is incredibly in sync and agile on the many intricate arrangements. Of special note is the presence of percussionist Bill Loughbrough who contributes three performances on his unusual chromatic tympani, or "boobams," which are his own invention.
Baker is self-assured and in excellent form here, blowing many fine solos in his classic "cool" style. Tenor man Phil Urso and pianist Bobby Timmons are in equally good form, supporting Baker with flawless precision and taste. Baker's only vocal performance comes on the Gerry Mulligan original "Line For Lyons." Other notable cuts include Mulligan's "Revelation," the Latin-esque "To Mickey's Memory," and Al Cohn's swinging "Music to Dance By." Taken as a whole, this set is a nice snapshot of Baker in performance at the peak of his early popularity.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Chet Baker

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,982
  • UPC: 724358267129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)