Girl Talk Feed The Animals

Feed The Animals
31 ratings
Price: $23.38
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3298H
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Ais

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.91
Ranked #24 in Rolling Stone's 50 Best Albums Of 2008 -- "[M]egajams that electrify dance floors."
Spin - p.116
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Girl Talk's fourth album efficiently weds collegiate Napster mainstays to thuggish verse in a rapid-fire manner..."
Alternative Press - p.164
4 stars out of 5 -- "Built upon layers of well-known samples, ANIMALS is a raucous and hugely entertaining effort that doubles as a virtual 'Name That Tune' game."
"[I]t's as much a schizophrenic retrospective of popular music as an all-out forty-minute mash-up."
Blender (Magazine) - p.78
4 stars out of 5 -- "[The album] relies on a satisfying trick: combining hip-hop, indie and classic-rock samples into rousing jams. Sometimes the recontextualizations are irreverent; sometimes they're enlightening..."
Paste (magazine) (p.59) - "His latest musical highlight reel is dense with rib-nudging gags and indelible moments....This multivalent stew is precisely the world in which we live. Gillis simply digests it into a crunky, continuous mix."
Clash (magazine) (p.122) - "[E]verything here is expertly put together, but never takes itself too seriously....Brilliantly entertaining."


  • 1.Play Your Part (Pt. 1)
  • 2.Shut the Club Down
  • 3.Still Here
  • 4.What It's All About
  • 5.Set It Off
  • 6.No Pause
  • 7.Like This
  • 8.Give Me a Beat
  • 9.Hands in the Air
  • 10.In Step
  • 11.Let Me See You
  • 12.Here's the Thing
  • 13.Don't Stop
  • 14.Play Your Part (Pt. 2)

Product Description:

FEED THE ANIMALS, the fourth full-length release from Greg Gillis, the manic DJ, producer, and pop provocateur aka Girl Talk, finds him expanding the dance floor-friendly, overdriven mash-up style of 2006's NIGHTRIPPER. Like that album, FEED THE ANIMALS' approach is derived as much from the work of highbrow art-world pranksters such as Christian Marclay as it is from the sonic collage work of dance-oriented DJs and samplers. Though FEED THE ANIMALS itself utilizes a staggering number of samples, Gillis isn't indulging in playful displays of virtuosity here. Every track is muscular, propulsive, and musically coherent. The insistent "Still Here" catches fire when Gillis lays the a cappella from Blackstreet's "No Diggity" over a beatbox-laden rhythm, while "Hands In the Air" seamlessly pitches woozy samples from The Tag Team, Kraftwerk, The Band, and The Velvet Underground over one stadium-baiting beat. In the end, Gillis's encyclopedic knowledge of pop music and his boldness in rigging up unexpected musical juxtapositions makes FEED THE ANIMALS an endlessly compelling listen.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 31 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Girl Talk

Product Info

  • UPC: 8809053136160
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)