Brazilliance, Volume 1

Brazilliance, Volume 1
10% OFF
Rating 4.9
7 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  BLUN 96339
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 7, 1991
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Entertainment Reviews:

The Wire - p.69
"Almeida's samba rhythm melds organically into jazz swing as Shank's alto enters."


  • 1.Atabaque
  • 2.Amor Flamengo
  • 3.Stairway To The Stars
  • 4.Acertate Mas
  • 5.Terra Seca
  • 6.Speak Low
  • 7.Speak Low (Alternate Take)
  • 8.Inquietacao
  • 9.Baa-Too-Kee
  • 10.Carinoso
  • 11.Tocata
  • 12.Hazardous
  • 13.Nono
  • 14.Noctambulism
  • 15.Blue Baiao

Product Description:

Personnel: Bud Shank (alto saxophone, flute); Laurindo Almeida (guitar); Gary Peacock (bass); Chuck Flores (drums).
Recorded in Los Angeles, California from April 15-22, 1953. Originally released on Pacific Jazz (1204).
In 1953, the West Coast studio reedman Bud Shank created a first by going into the studio with the Brazilian master guitarist Laurindo Almeida. A good eight years before Stan Getz conducted a similar experiment called JAZZ SAMBA (with non-Brazilian guitarist Charlie Byrd), Shank and Almeida produced a natural-born musical hybrid that still sounds startlingly contemporary today. There aren't too many 1953 jazz albums about which one could make the same claim.
The two musicians stick with mainly Brazilian material, featuring such highly regarded pre-bossa nova composers as Ary Barroso, Luis Gonzaga, and Pixinguinha. The only stateside detour is in the company of the romantic standards "Stairway to the Stars" and Kurt Weill's "Speak Low," both of which sound perfectly at home in this context, thanks to Almeida's incredible fluency and Shank's unmannered, freshly conceived improvisations.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Laurindo Almeida

Product Info:

  • UPC: 077779633920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item