Bread The Definitive Collection (2-CD)

The Definitive Collection (2-CD)
12 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  329RD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 28, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Dismal Day
  • 2.London Bridge
  • 3.Any Way You Want Me
  • 4.Last Time
  • 5.Friends and Lovers
  • 6.Make It With You
  • 7.Look What You've Done
  • 8.I Want You With Me
  • 9.Why Do You Keep Me Waiting
  • 10.Call On Me
  • 11.It Don't Matter to Me
  • 12.Let Your Love Go
  • 13.If
  • 14.Too Much Love
  • 15.He's A Good Lad

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Take Comfort
  • 2.Truckin'
  • 3.Mother Freedom
  • 4.Baby I'm-A Want You
  • 5.Down On My Knees
  • 6.Daughter
  • 7.Everything I Own
  • 8.Diary
  • 9.Guitar Man
  • 10.Aubrey
  • 11.Fancy Dancer
  • 12.Sweet Surrender
  • 13.Lost Without Your Love
  • 14.She's the Only One
  • 15.Hooked on You

Product Description:

Bread: David Gates (vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass guitar); James Griffin (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Larry Knechtel, Robb Royer (bass guitar); Jim Gordon , Mike Botts.
Personnel: Larry Knechtel (guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Robb Royer (guitar, keyboards); Mike Botts (drums, percussion); Jim Gordon (drums).
Audio Remasterers: Geoff Sykes; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Barry Alfonso.
Recording information: Elektra Sound recorders, Los Angeles, CA; Sound Labs, Hollywood, CA; Sound Recorders, Hollywood, CA.
Atlantic/Rhino's 2006 double-disc The Definitive Collection is a truncated version of Rhino's 1996 double-disc, Retrospective, which has been seriously edited for this reissue. The 1996 comp ran a generous 50 songs, featuring not only all of Bread's hits, but also solo singles from James Griffin and David Gates, including the latter's classic hit "The Goodbye Girl." The 2006 comp knocks off 20 of those songs -- well, 21, really, since "I Want You with Me" is the only one of the 30 songs here that wasn't on Retrospective -- and offers an edited version of that set's liner notes. The big hits are all here -- including "If," "Make It with You," "Baby I'm-A Want You," "Everything I Own," and "The Guitar Man." Any listener going in cold to The Definitive Collection, not knowing about the previous double-disc set, will likely find this reasonably satisfying, but Retrospective is better than this set in every way. And if given the choice between the two -- which most consumers will be, since both The Definitive Collection and Retrospective are on the market simultaneously -- there's no reason to select this one over its more comprehensive cousin. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Bread

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,000
  • UPC: 081227338824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)