The Platters Golden Greats (3-CD Box Set)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Golden Greats (3-CD Box Set)
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
Only 9 copies left
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (3 Discs)
Item:  GOES 25422
Amazon sells this CD for $25.09, buying at saves you 36%

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Goldies Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Only You (And You Alone)
  • 2.The Great Pretender
  • 3.(You've Got) The Magic Touch
  • 4.My Prayer
  • 5.Heaven on Earth
  • 6.You'll Never, Never Know
  • 7.I'm Sorry
  • 8.Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
  • 9.Red Sails in the Sunset
  • 10.I Love You 1,000 Times
  • 11.I'll Be Home
  • 12.With This Ring
  • 13.Washed Ashore (On a Lonely Island in the Sea)
  • 14.Sweet, Sweet Lovin'

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Twilight Time
  • 2.Harbor Lights
  • 3.One in a Million
  • 4.Pledging My Love
  • 5.If I Had You
  • 6.Crying in the Chapel
  • 7.All My Love Belongs to You
  • 8.Delilah
  • 9.I Love You, Yes I Do
  • 10.Doesn't It Ring a Bell
  • 11.The Wonder of You
  • 12.The More I See You
  • 13.Unchained Melody
  • 14.Sayonara

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.I Wish
  • 2.It's Raining Outside
  • 3.Where
  • 4.Sleepy Lagoon
  • 5.To Each His Own
  • 6.Don't Blame Me
  • 7.What Does It Matter
  • 8.My Secret
  • 9.The Sound and the Fury
  • 10.That Old Feeling
  • 11.Sonata
  • 12.How Beautiful Our Love Is
  • 13.Love Must Go On
  • 14.Going Back to Detroit

Product Description:

The Platters were the most successful vocal group of the 1950s, with a dozen gold singles and a trio of million-selling albums in their resum?. Blessed with lead singer Tony Williams' warm, rich tenor, and a manager, Buck Ram, who was also a skilled arranger and songwriter, The Platters toned down their R&B and gospel roots to fit pop radio, and their biggest hits ("Only You," "The Great Pretender") have become acknowledged classics. Their cover of "Smoke Gets In Your Eyes," originally recorded by Paul Whiteman in 1933, has become the definitive version of this beautiful song. Golden Greats is a budget, three-disc collection that has all the hits and more, although a single disc with just the biggest hits would probably suffice for the casual listener. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 5.0 THE GOLDIES' GREATS BY THE PLATTERS Music Lover: from CHINO VALLEY, AZ, USA -- May, 12, 2012

These Goldies' Greats ( Mercury masters are actually owned by Universal Music ) includes the major Platters' hits plus some bonuses: After lead singer, Tony Williams left the Platters for a disappointing solo career, he was replaced by Sonny Turner. The Golden Greats 3-CD Box Set includes the 1966-67 hits "With This Ring" and "I Love You 1000 Times" sung by Sonny and the Platters. Aong the 42 Goldies' tracks, another favorite of mine is included: "My Secret," rarely contained in a Platters' compilation with the exception of Bear Family Records 9-CD Box-Set of "Four Platters & One Lovely Dish" and the Polygram-Mercury 50-CD Box Set, "The Magic Touch: An Anthology." For less than $16, the "Golden Greats" are well worth it! 5-12-12 R.C. JONES

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Platters

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 7,492
  • UPC: 8712177041046
  • Shipping Weight: 0.60/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items