Johnny Cash Life

11 ratings
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 26637
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 5/04, p.108
3 stars out of 5 - "In Cash, the warring tropes of good and bad, right and wrong, were only ever in temporary equilibrium."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.114
3 stars out of 5 - "What gives this cachet is that, like the last three, it was compiled and linernoted by Cash himself."


  • 1.Suppertime
  • 2.Country Trash
  • 3.The Night Hank Williams Came To Town
  • 4.Time Changes Everything
  • 5.I Talk To Jesus Everyday
  • 6.You're The Nearest Thing To Heaven
  • 7.I'm Ragged But I'm Right
  • 8.These Are My People
  • 9.The Ballad Of Ira Hayes
  • 10.Oney
  • 11.Man In Black
  • 12.I'm Alright Now
  • 13.Ragged Old Flag
  • 14.I Wish I Was Crazy Again
  • 15.Where Did We Go Right (With The Carter Family)
  • 16.Wanted Man
  • 17.I Can't Go On That Way
  • 18.Lead Me Gently Home

Product Description:

Columbia issued three theme-based Johnny Cash collections in 2000, the self-explanatory LOVE, GOD, and MURDER (also available together as a box set). Four years later, after Cash's death, the fourth volume in the series appeared. On one level, LIFE is kind of a catchall for songs that didn't fit the other discs, but it also does a nice job of illustrating the Man in Black's perspective on everyday living. Excellently compiled, it covers several different eras of Cash's multi-decade career and digs into the more obscure corners of his catalog with satisfying results. There are songs celebrating Cash's rough-and-tumble origins ("Country Trash," "I'm Ragged But I'm Right"), his sociopolitical views ("Ragged Old Flag," "Man in Black"), and his personal relationship with both God ("I Talk to Jesus Everyday") and women ("Wanted Man"). Neophytes should be aware that there are no big hits here, but fans of this country legend will thrill to the depth and variety of LIFE.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Johnny Cash

Product Info

  • UPC: 886972663722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)