Big Maybelle The Complete Okeh Sessions 1952-1955

The Complete Okeh Sessions 1952-1955
21 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 25043
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.Just Want Your Love
  • 2.So Good To My Baby
  • 3.Gabbin' Blues (Don't Run My Business)
  • 4.My Country Man
  • 5.Rain Down Rain
  • 6.Way Back Home
  • 7.Please Stay Away From My Sam
  • 8.Jinny Mule
  • 9.Send For Me
  • 10.Maybelle's Blues
  • 11.I've Got A Feelin'
  • 12.You'll Never Know
  • 13.No More Trouble Out Of Me
  • 14.My Big Mistake
  • 15.Ain't No Use
  • 16.I'm Getting 'Long Alright
  • 17.You'll Be Sorry
  • 18.Hair Dressin' Women
  • 19.One Monkey Don't Stop No Show
  • 20.Don't Leave Poor Me
  • 21.Ain't To Be Played With
  • 22.New Kind Of Mambo
  • 23.Ocean Of Tears
  • 24.Whole Lot Of Shakin' Goin' On
  • 25.The Other Night
  • 26.Such A Cutie

Product Description:

Personnel: Big Maybelle (vocals); Leroy Kirkland, Danny Mendelsohn (conductor); James Cannady (guitar); Paul Ricci (alto saxophone); Sam "The Man" Taylor, Maurice Simon (tenor saxophone); Dave McRae, Leslie Johnakins, Heywood Henry (baritone saxophone); Alfred Cobbs, Eli Robinson, Billy Byers (trombone); Fletcher Smith, Lee Anderson, Al Williams, Ernie Hayes (piano); Grachan Moncur, Lloyd Trotman, Norman Keenan (bass); Charlie Smith, Marty Wilson, Jimmy Crawford, Hervie Lovelle (drums).
Recorded in 1952-1955. Includes liner notes by Peter Grendysa.
Digitally remastered by Vic Anesini (Sony Music Studios).
This is part of the Legacy Rhythm And Soul Series.
There's very little that's subtle about the room-shaking music of Big Maybelle. Decades later, the power in these 26 tracks is still palpable. With her bold, gritty sound, she comes off like nothing so much as a female Howlin' Wolf, and one can't imagine her not being an influence on the full-throttle blues of Janis Joplin. "So Good to My Baby" features typically microphone-distorting belting from the singer, and an appropriately blazing horn section. The hit "Gabbin' Blues (Don't Run My Business)" is a humorous tete-a-tete between Smith and a scorned female cohort. It recalls similar devices frequently employed in late-'90s R&B.
One of the most stirring cuts here is "Ocean of Tears," a percolating, minor-key tune in which Maybelle bemoans her sorrowful state with an unforgettably cathartic angst. Also impressive, though, are ballads such as "You'll Never Know," "Ain't No Use," and "You'll Be Sorry," which show a pleasant, softer side to Maybelle's craft. "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On," which she took to the top of the R&B charts before Jerry Lee Lewis turned the song into a rock & roll anthem, is another standout.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Big Maybelle

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 4,091
  • UPC: 886972504322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

Blues: Jump Blues Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)