Taj Mahal The Best of Taj Mahal (Expanded Edition)

Rating 4.6
12 ratings
List Price: $7.98
You Save: 80¢ (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  CBS 65856
Amazon sells this CD for $9.60, buying at OLDIES.com saves you 25%
This is the price to buy directly from Amazon.com or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on October 17, 2014. Amazon is a registered trademark of Amazon.com, Inc.

Related products:

More titles by Taj Mahal

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 9/8/00, p.89
"...A breath of fresh air....drawing from his 1st 9 LPs, some of which remain out of print..." - Rating: A
Living Blues - 5-6/01, p.90
"...Mighty fine...he remains an adventurous and consistently interesting musician whose 'best' might always be yet to come..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Statesboro Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.Leaving Trunk
  • Buy for $0.993.Corinna
  • Buy for $0.994.Going Up To The Country, Paint My Mailbox Blue
  • Buy for $0.995.She Caught The Katy And Left Me A Mule To Ride
  • Buy for $0.996.Take A Giant Step
  • Buy for $0.997.Six Days On The Road
  • Buy for $0.998.Farther On Down The Road
  • Buy for $0.999.Fishing Blues
  • Buy for $0.9910.Ain't Gwine To Whistle Dixie (Any Mo') (Live)
  • Buy for $0.9911.You're Going To Need Somebody On Your Bond (Live)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Cakewalk Into Town
  • Buy for $0.9913.Oh Susanna
  • Buy for $0.9914.Frankie And Albert
  • Buy for $0.9915.Chevrolet
  • Buy for $0.9916.Johnny Too Bad
  • Buy for $0.9917.Sweet Mama Janisse (Previously Unissued Studio Recording)

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Keb Mo and Stanley Crouch.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Taj Mahal (vocals, guitar).
Photographers: Guy Webster; David Gahr; Bob Cato; Don Peterson; Rod Dyer.
Arranger: Taj Mahal.
Columbia/Legacy's 2000 collection The Best of Taj Mahal is a first-rate overview of Taj Mahal's classic late-'60s/early-'70s work for Columbia. Spanning 17 tracks, including a previously unreleased cut "Sweet Mama Janisse" from 1970, this hits many of the key points from the records he released between 1967 and 1974, including "Statesboro Blues," "Leaving Trunk,' "She Caught the Katy and Left Me a Mule to Ride," and "Fishin Blues." Although his albums were constructed and worked as actual albums, this does an excellent job of summarizing these thematic affairs and functions as a nice introduction to Mahal's music. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Taj Mahal

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 35,991
  • UPC: 074646585627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: