Couldn't Stand The Weather

Couldn't Stand The Weather
120 ratings
List Price: $7.98
Price: $7.19
You Save: $0.79 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HVHK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 4/2/99, p.95
"The late Texas guitarist was a fiercely distinctive blues-rock phenom whose sensitivity and imagination justified his rapid rise to prominence..."
Q - 5/95, p.138
4 Stars - Excellent - "...Vaughan's post-Hendrix Stratocasting still sparkles....a reminder of the wit that often informed his phrasing and his willingness to torch them boundaries..."
Down Beat - p.76
4 stars out of 5 -- "In studio and onstage, he morphs pitch-bending into a visceral art form....This roadhouse veteran sings quite well."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.97
3 stars out of 5 -- "[L]istening to him shred strings in front of an audience reminds us why he's so sorely missed."


  • Buy for $0.991.Scuttlebuttin'
  • Buy for $0.992.Couldn't Stand The Weather
  • Buy for $0.993.Things That I Used To Do
  • Buy for $0.994.Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)
  • Buy for $1.295.Cold Shot
  • Buy for $0.996.Tin Pan Alley
  • Buy for $0.997.Honey Bee
  • Buy for $0.998.Stang's Swang
  • Buy for $0.999.SRV Speaks (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Hide Away (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Look At Little Sister (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Give Me Back My Wig (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Come On (Pt. III) (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Master Sound releases are 24-karat gold CDs remastered from first generation masters. This process utilizes 20-bit technology and Sony's "Super Bit Mapping" system.
Personnel: Stevie Ray Vaughan (guitar, vocals); Jimmie Vaughan (guitar); Stan Harrison (tenor saxophone); Tommy Shannon (bass); Chris "Whipper" Layton, Fran Christina (drums).
Producers: Chris Layton, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Tommy Shannon, Richard Mullen, Jim Capfer.
Personnel: Stevie Ray Vaughan (vocals, guitar); Jimmie Vaughan (guitar); Stan Harrison (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Chris Layton, Fran Christina (drums).
Audio Mixer: Danny Kadar .
Liner Note Author: Bill Milkowski.
Recording information: Sound on Sound Studios, New York, NY (1984).
Editor: Darcy Proper.
Photographers: Robert Matheu; Stephanie Chernikowski; Benno Friedman.
Stevie Ray was already the hottest act in Austin, Texas, way before David Bowie used his guitar on "Let's Dance." Vaughan's 1983 debut album, TEXAS FLOOD, had alerted the world to a new guitar phenomenon who combined the blues power of Freddie and Albert King with the inspired ferocity of Jimi Hendrix. He made the Hendrix connection plain with his take on "Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)," which rapidly became a concert highlight. At the other extreme was "Tin Pan Alley," a slow blues made famous by Jimmy Wilson but now associated with the Texas hotshot. This was the time when Stevie Ray's celebrity and status among his peers was at least the equal of Eric Clapton. The pitfalls were beckoning.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 120 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Stevie Ray Vaughan

Product Info

  • UPC: 074646587126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)