Harry James The Complete Recordings

The Complete Recordings
5 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 24762
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.From The Bottom Of My Heart
  • 2.Melancholy Mood
  • 3.My Buddy
  • 4.It's Funny To Everyone But Me
  • 5.Here Comes The Night
  • 6.All Or Nothing At All
  • 7.On A Little Street In Singapore
  • 8.Who Told You I Cared?
  • 9.Ciribirbin (They're So In Love)
  • 10.Every Day Of My Life
  • 11.From The Bottom Of My Heart
  • 12.Melancholy Mood
  • 13.It's Funny To Everyone But Me
  • 14.All Or Nothing At All
  • 15.Stardust
  • 16.Wishing Will Make It So
  • 17.If I Didn't Care
  • 18.The Lamp Is Low
  • 19.My Love For You
  • 20.Moon Love
  • 21.This Is No Dream

Product Description:

Full performer name: Harry James & His Orchestra Featuring Frank Sinatra.
Harry James & His Orchestra Featuring Frank Sinatra: Harry James (trumpet); Frank Sinatra (vocals); Dave Matthews (alto saxophone); Claude Lakey (alto & tenor saxophones, trumpet); Bill Luther, Drew Page (tenor & baritone saxophones); Claude Bowen, Tom Gonsoulin, Jack Palmer, Jack Schaeffer (trumpet); Russell Brown, Truett Jones, Dalton Rizzotto, Bruce Squires (trombone); Jack Gardner (piano); Brian "Red" Kent (guitar); Thurman Teague (bass); Ralph Hawkins, Mickey Scrima (drums).
Recorded between July 8 and November 8, 1939. Includes liner notes by George T. Simon, Burt Hall, Will Friedwall, Jack Lawrence and Charles Granata.
Frank Sinatra made his first studio recordings on July 13, 1939 with a band led by the man who gave him his first real break in show business -- trumpeter Harry James. Columbia/Legacy's 1995 release of the complete 1939 recordings of the Harry James Orchestra featuring Sinatra includes four alternate takes and seven live performances, recorded during the summer of 1939 at the Roseland and Marine Ballrooms in New York and Atlantic City (tracks 15-21). Tracks 15-18 predate Sinatra's studio recording debut by several days. There's something pleasant about hearing this vocalist putting songs across just before he became ultra-famous by ditching James to pursue more lucrative exploits as Tommy Dorsey's star attraction. The Sinatra of 1939 was a 23-year-old wonder whose marvelous voice was not yet saturated with the singer's notorious latter-day swagger. He's clearly happy to be showing the public who he is and what he can do. The combination of Sinatra's fresh young energy and the excellent instrumental accompaniment makes this entry in the Harry James discography a wise choice for those interested in the singer, the trumpeter, or both. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Harry James

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 15,749
  • UPC: 886972476223
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

Jazz Instrument: Big Band Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)