Benny Goodman Featuring Peggy Lee

Featuring Peggy Lee
25% OFF
Rating 4.5
2 ratings
List Price: $7.98
Your Price: $5.97
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  SSP 24987
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.Elmer's Tune
  • 2.I See A Million People
  • 3.That's The Way It Goes
  • 4.I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good
  • 5.My Old Flame
  • 6.How Deep Is The Ocean?
  • 7.Shady Lady Bird
  • 8.Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)
  • 9.Somebody Else Is Taking My Place
  • 10.Somebody Nobody Loves
  • 11.How Long Has This Been Going On?
  • 12.That Did It, Marie
  • 13.Winter Weather
  • 14.Everything I Love
  • 15.Not Mine
  • 16.Not A Care In The World

Product Description:

Personnel: Benny Goodman (clarinet); Peggy Lee, Art Lund (vocals); Skippy Martin, Clint Neagley, Julie Schwartz, Sol Kane (alto saxophone); Vido Musso, George Berg (tenor saxophone); Chuck Gentry (baritone saxophone); Billy Butterfield, Jimmy Maxwell, Cootie Williams, Al Davis, Joe Ferrante, Bernie Privin (trumpet); Lou McGarity, Cutty Cutshall (trombone); Mel Powell (piano); Tom Morgan (guitar); John Simmons, Mort Stuhlmaker, Sid Weiss (acoustic bass); Sid Catlett, Ralph Collier (drums).
Recorded in Chicago, Illinois on August 15 & 20, 1941 and in New York between September 25 at December 10, 1941. Includes liner notes by Richard M. Sudhalter.
Digitally remastered by Larry Keyes (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
This is part of Columbia's Best Of The Big Bands series.
When Peggy Lee made her first recording with Benny Goodman's orchestra, she was 19 and scared to death. The result, "Elmer's Tune," is one she probably wished were lost, but the other 15 recordings on this CD (all from 1941) find her improving month by month, struggling gamely through the difficult Eddie Sauter and Mel Powell arrangements. Many of these titles were formerly rare and offer an interesting look at the early Peggy Lee. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Benny Goodman

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 62,081
  • UPC: 886972498720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)