Michael Jackson HIStory (2-CD)

HIStory (2-CD)
286 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.46 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $2.52 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HVCV
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 20, 1995
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 8/10/95, pp.55-58
3.5 Stars - Good - "...HISTORY's ultimate goal is to position Michael Jackson's music as a planet, a genre, a law....As time passes and singles break, maybe those superhuman plans will touch back down on earth."
Q - 8/95, p.120
3 Stars - Good - "...HISTORY is basically an appeal on behalf of the rich and famous....the metallic clatter of jackhammer rhythms and Michael's own complaints remain this record's defining features..."
Musician - 9/95, pp.86-87
"...incorporates tougher musical textures and deliberately 'blacker' vocal inflections....more open about expressing negative emotions....also more pointed about political and racial issues, moving from...safe genralities...to more controversial stances..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Billie Jean
  • 2.The Way You Make Me Feel
  • 3.Black Or White
  • 4.Rock With You
  • 5.She's Out Of My Life
  • 6.Bad
  • 7.I Just Can't Stop Loving You
  • 8.Man In The Mirror
  • 9.Thriller
  • 10.Beat It
  • 11.The Girl Is Mine
  • 12.Remember The Time
  • 13.Don't Stop ?Til You Get Enough
  • 14.Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
  • 15.Heal The World

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Scream
  • 2.They Don't Care About Us
  • 3.Stranger In Moscow
  • 4.This Time Around
  • 5.Earth Song
  • 6.D.S.
  • 7.Money
  • 8.Come Together
  • 9.You Are Not Alone
  • 10.Childhood (Theme From ?Free Willy 2')
  • 11.Tabloid Junkie
  • 12.2 Bad
  • 13.History
  • 14.Little Susie
  • 15.Smile

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Michael Jackson (vocals, various instruments); L.T.B., Vincent Price (vocals); Jeff Mirinov, Michael Thompson, Rob Hoffman, Jen Leigh, David Williams, Marlo Henderson, Christopher Currell, Paul Jackson, Dean Parks (guitar); Bill Bottrell (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Steve Lukather (guitar, bass); Paul Peabody (violin); David Paich (piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Rod Temperton, Chuck Wild (keyboards, synthesizer); Steve Porcaro (keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Greg Phillinganes (keyboards, Rhodes, synthesizer); Nathan East (bass); Ndugu Chancler, John Robinson (drums); Ollie E. Brown, Richard Heath (percussion); Christa Larson, Julia Waters, Maxine Waters, Oren Waters (background vocals).
Producers include: Quincy Jones, Michael Jackson, Teddy Riley, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Janet Jackson.
HISTORY BOOK 1 contains one disc of Jackson's greatest hits and one disc of all-new songs. It features a 52-page booklet with liner notes by Janet Jackson, Steven Spielberg, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Elizabeth Taylor, as well as many never-before-seen photographs.
HISTORY BOOK 1 was nominated for a 1996 Grammy Award for Album Of The Year. "You Are Not Alone" was nominated for Grammy Awards for Song Of The Year and Best Male Pop Vocal Performance, and the Michael Jackson-Janet Jackson duet "Scream" was nominated for Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals.
Michael Jackson's double-disc HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I is a monumental achievement of ego. Titled "HIStory Begins," the first disc is a collection of his post-Motown hits, featuring some of the greatest music in pop history, including "Billie Jean," "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough," "Beat It," and "Rock with You." It leaves some hits out -- including the number ones "Say Say Say" and "Dirty Diana" -- yet it's filled with enough prime material to be thoroughly intoxicating. The second disc, called "HIStory Continues," consists entirely of new material -- which also happens to be the first material he released since being accused of child molestation. "HIStory Continues" is easily the most personal album Jackson has recorded. References to the scandal permeate almost every song, creating a thick atmosphere of paranoia. Occasionally, Jackson produces some well-crafted pop that ranks with his best material: R. Kelly's "You Are Not Alone" is seductive, "Scream" improves on the slamming beats of his earlier single "Jam," and "Stranger in Moscow" is one of his most haunting ballads. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 286 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Michael Jackson

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 52,024
  • UPC: 074645900025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.43/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)