Indigo Girls 1200 Curfews (2-CD)

1200 Curfews (2-CD)
56 ratings
Price: $15.49
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.50 (3% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32ACA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/13/95, p.78
"...Gliding quite easily from softly strummed whispers to arena-rock bellowing, the Indigos are most inspired when there's an audience to fuel the fire." - Rating: A-
Q - 1/96, p.143
4 Stars - Excellent - "...1200 CURFEWS pulsates with a slow-building yet nevertheless lively power..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Joking
  • Buy for $0.992.Least Complicated
  • Buy for $0.993.Thin Line
  • Buy for $0.994.River
  • Buy for $0.995.Strange Fire
  • Buy for $0.996.Power Of Two
  • Buy for $0.997.Pushing The Needle Too Far
  • Buy for $0.998.Virginia Woolf
  • Buy for $0.999.Jonas And Ezekial
  • Buy for $0.9910.Tangled Up In Blue
  • Buy for $0.9911.World Falls
  • Buy for $0.9912.Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee
  • Buy for $0.9913.Ghost
  • Buy for $0.9914.Dead Man's Hill

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.I Don't Wanna Know
  • Buy for $1.292.Galileo
  • Buy for $0.993.Down By The River
  • Buy for $0.994.Love's Recovery
  • Buy for $0.995.Land Of Canaan
  • Buy for $0.996.Mystery
  • Buy for $0.997.This Train Revised
  • Buy for $0.998.Back Together Again
  • Buy for $0.999.Language Or The Kiss
  • Buy for $0.9910.Chickenman
  • Buy for $0.9911.Midnight Train To Georgia
  • Buy for $1.2912.Closer To Fine
  • Buy for $0.9913.Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee
  • Buy for $0.9914.Bonus Track 1

Product Description:

Indigo Girls: Emily Saliers (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, dobro); Amy Ray (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin, melodica).
Additional personnel: Gail Ann Dorsey (vocals); Jerry Marotta (vocals, saxophone, drums); Jimmy Descant (electric guitar, background vocals); Michelle Malone (mandolin, background vocals); Scarlet Rivera, Sheila Doyle (violin); Jane Scarpantoni (cello, pennywhistle); Sara Lee (pennywhistle, bass, background vocals); Sandy Garfinkel (harmonica); Michael Lorant (tambourine, background vocals); Gerard McHugh, Dede Vogt, Russell Carter (background vocals).
Producers: Indigo Girls, Russell Carter, Jerry Marotta, Richard Winn, David Kehrer.
Engineers include: Don McCollister, Fred Derby, Tchad Blake.
Recorded between 1982 and 1995. Includes liner notes by Indigo Girls, Steve Morse and Russell Carter.
The idea started off simple enough--record a couple of the Indigo Girls' better shows, and release a live album. Well, 1200 CURFEWS later, this celebrated acoustic duo has released a double album, chock full of exceptional live performances from a wide variety of settings. And they're not all from the stage either. "Thin Line," a modest little gem of a song, was recorded in the dressing room of the Santa Monica Civic Center. The majority of tunes on this formidable set were, however, recorded on stage, and the Girls deliver on all fronts. We get raw emotion, shimmering acoustic hooks and plenty of straight-up, honest music.
The Indigo Girls rarely use any percussion, and are happy to present their songs with bare-bones arrangements. The aforementioned "Thin Line" is a perfect example. As Amy Ray starts off with her powerful, deep voice and deliberate phrasing, Emily Saliers joins in with her trademark harmonies. She expertly rides a few notes above, or sometimes right alongside, her partner. The effect is mesmerizing. The band also gives Buffy Saint Marie's "Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee" a go, and they achieve a haunting rendition of a timeless protest song.
Another highlight is "Jonas And Ezekial," a bluesy, tightly-wound exploration of heaven and hell. "Every devil I meet is an angel in disguise," sings Ray. As they often do, these two fine musicians build to a harrowing climax, where they are wailing in a mesh of layered harmony and perfect vocal counterpoint. This is a great live act that has recorded an immaculately-mixed two-disc set. Loyal fans as well as newcomers should be more than satisfied.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 56 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Indigo Girls

Product Info

  • UPC: 074646722923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.41/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)