Earth, Wind & Fire The Essential Earth, Wind & Fire (2-CD)

The Essential Earth, Wind & Fire (2-CD)
73 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  65AHF
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 1/03, p.132
4 stars out of 5 - "...There's still loads to savour..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Mighty Mighty
  • Buy for $0.992.Evil
  • Buy for $0.993.Devotion
  • Buy for $0.994.Keep Your Head To The Sky
  • Buy for $1.295.Kalimba Story
  • Buy for $1.296.Shining Star
  • Buy for $1.297.That's The Way Of The World
  • Buy for $0.998.Yearnin' Learnin'
  • Buy for $0.999.All About Love
  • Buy for $1.2910.Reasons
  • Buy for $1.2911.Sing A Song
  • Buy for $1.2912.Can't Hide Love
  • Buy for $1.2913.Getaway
  • Buy for $1.2914.Saturday Nite
  • Buy for $0.9915.Ponta De Areia / Be Ever Wonderful
  • Buy for $0.9916.Open Our Eyes
  • Buy for $1.2917.Got To Get You Into My Life

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.September
  • Buy for $1.292.Serpentine Fire
  • Buy for $1.293.Fantasy
  • Buy for $0.994.I'll Write A Song For You
  • Buy for $0.995.Drum Song
  • Buy for $0.996.In The Stone
  • Buy for $0.997.Can't Let Go
  • Buy for $1.298.After The Love Has Gone
  • Buy for $0.999.Wait
  • Buy for $0.9910.You And I
  • Buy for $0.9911.Let Me Talk
  • Buy for $0.9912.And Love Goes On
  • Buy for $0.9913.You
  • Buy for $1.2914.Let's Groove
  • Buy for $0.9915.Fall In Love With Me
  • Buy for $0.9916.Side By Side
  • Buy for $1.2917.Boogie Wonderland (with The Emotions)

Product Description:

Earth, Wind & Fire: Maurice White (vocals, kalimba, timbales, drums); Verdine White (vocals, bass, percussion); Philip Bailey (vocals, congas, percussion); Larry Dunn (piano, organ, synthesizer, programming).
Additional personnel includes: Ken Yerke, Harris Goldman (violin); Rollice Dale (viola); Dennis Karmazyn Harry Schultz (cello); Fred Jackson Jr., Herman Riley, Jerome Richardson (saxophone); Tommy Johnson (tuba); Harvey Mason, Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Beloyd Taylor (background vocals).
Producers: Maurice White, Joe Wissert, Charles Stepney, Al McKay.
Compilation producers: Leo Sacks, Maurice White.
Recorded between 1973 & 1983. Includes liner notes by Leo Sacks, Virginia Prescott, and William C, Rhoden.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Al McKay (vocals, guitar, percussion); Beloyd Taylor (vocals, guitar); Maurice White (vocals, drums, kalimba, timbales); Philip Bailey (vocals, congas, percussion); Verdine White (vocals, percussion); Roland Bautista , Steve Lukather, Marlo Henderson (guitar); Dorothy Ashby (harp); Assa Drori, Jack Gootkin, Jerome Reisler, Winterton Garvey, Harris Goldman, Anton Sen, Ken Yerke, Judith Talvi, Rosmen Torfeh, Joy Lyle, Leena Sherman, Joseph Goodman, Henry Ferber, Gina Kronstadt, Sheldon Sanow, Jerome Webster, Sandy Seemore, Henry Roth, Pamela Gates, Sherman Bryana, Joseph Livoti, Ilka Talvi, Pavel Farkas, William Henderson , Ronald Clark, Haim Shtrum (violin); David Campbell , Paul Polivnick, Laury Woods, James Dunham , Barbara Thomason, Rollice Dale, Linn Subotnick, Linda Lipsett, James Ross , Marilyn Baker, Virginia Majewski, Denyse Buffum (viola); Jan Kelley, Dennis Karmazyn, Daniel Smith, Harry Shultz, Ronald Cooper, Delores M. Bing, Kevan Torfeh, Jacqueline Lustgarten, Miguel Martinez, Larry Corbett, John Walz, Marie Fera (cello); Andrew Woolfolk (flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, percussion); Don Myrick, Fred Jackson , Herman Riley, Jerome Richardson (saxophone); Michael Harris (trumpet, flugelhorn); Chuck Findley, Gary Grant, Jerry Hey, Oscar Brashear, Steve Madaio, Bobby Bryant (trumpet); Arthur Maebe, David Duke , Richard Perissi, Marilyn Robinson, Barbara Korn, Sidney Muldrow (French horn); Garnett Brown, George Bohanon, Benjamin Powell, Charles Loper, Maurice Spears, Louis Satterfield, Lew McCreary, William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach Jr. (trombone); Tommy Johnson (tuba); Larry Dunn (piano, organ, synthesizer); George Del Barrio, Eduardo del Barrio, Rick Kelly, Maxine Lewis, Jerry Peters, Skip Scarborough, Steve Porcaro, Azar Lawrence, Wayne Vaughn, Billy Myers, David Foster, Charles Stepney (piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Ralph Johnson (drums, percussion); Zakir Hussein (tabla); Richard Lepore (timpani); Harvey Mason, Sr. , Paulinho Da Costa (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Leo Sacks.
Recording information: Caribou Ranch, Nederland, CO; Clover Recorders; Complex Studios; Davlen Sound Studio; Hollywood Sound Recorders.Oceanway Recording Studio; The Burbank Studios; Wally Heider Studio 3; Westlake Audio, Los Angeles, CA.
Photographers: Jeffrey Mayer; Sandy Speiser.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Wanda Hutchinson; Sheila Whitt; Jeanette Hawes.
Arrangers: Deodato; Earth, Wind & Fire; Charles Stepney.
"These songs are as close as we came to perfection," says group founder and leader Maurice White in the liner notes to THE ESSENTIAL EARTH, WIND & FIRE. Given the quality of the music in this double-disc package, it's hard to argue. Remarkable for both its commercial success and its inventive hybrid of funk, soul, jazz, and African folk music (White's kalimba is featured as a solo instrument on "Evil," for example), Earth, Wind & Fire are deservedly regarded as one of the finest ensembles of the 1970s.
A thorough retrospective of the band's evolution and multiple stylistic directions (often achieved within one song), ESSENTIAL spans from the early, earthy funk of "Mighty Mighty" to the disco-flavored "Boogie Wonderland" (with the Emotions). In between are all of the group's smash hits--the infectious "Shining Star," the feel-good "Sing a Song," their jazzy interpretation of Lennon/McCartney's "Got to Get You Into My Life," and the early '80s dance-floor favorite "Let's Groove," to name a few. Throughout, complex horn parts, rich vocal harmonies, and the formidable chops of the band's instrumentalists dazzle on ballads, heady improvisations, and funk workouts alike. This is the definitive compilation of one soul's mightiest groups.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 73 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Earth, Wind & Fire

Product Info

  • UPC: 696998666122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)