Aretha Franklin Jazz To Soul (2-CD)

Jazz To Soul (2-CD)
11 ratings
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.59 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  KF8R
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Sony

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Today I Sing The Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.By Myself (Blue)
  • Buy for $0.993.Maybe I'm A Fool
  • Buy for $0.994.All Night Long
  • Buy for $0.995.Blue Holiday
  • Buy for $0.996.Nobody Like You
  • Buy for $0.997.Sweet Lover
  • Buy for $0.998.Just For A Thrill
  • Buy for $0.999.If Ever I Would Leave You
  • Buy for $0.9910.Once In A While
  • Buy for $0.9911.This Bitter Earth
  • Buy for $0.9912.God Bless The Child
  • Buy for $0.9913.Skylark
  • Buy for $0.9914.Muddy Water (A Mississippi Moan)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Drinking Again
  • Buy for $0.9916.What A Difference A Day Made (Makes)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Unforgettable
  • Buy for $0.9918.Love For Sale
  • Buy for $0.9919.Misty
  • Buy for $0.9920.Impossible
  • Buy for $0.9921.This Could Be The Start Of Something (Big)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Won't Be Long
  • Buy for $0.992.Operation Heartbreak
  • Buy for $0.993.Soulville
  • Buy for $0.994.Runnin' Out Of Fools
  • Buy for $0.995.Trouble In Mind
  • Buy for $0.996.Walk On By
  • Buy for $0.997.Every Little Bit Hurts
  • Buy for $0.998.Mockingbird
  • Buy for $0.999.You'll Lose A Good Thing
  • Buy for $0.9910.Cry Like A Baby
  • Buy for $0.9911.Take It Like You Give It
  • Buy for $0.9912.Land Of Dreams
  • Buy for $0.9913.Can't You Just See Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.(No, No) I'm Losing You
  • Buy for $0.9915.Bit Of Soul
  • Buy for $0.9916.Why Was I Born?
  • Buy for $0.9917.Until You Were Gone
  • Buy for $0.9918.Lee Cross

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Aretha Franklin (vocals, piano); Lord Westbrook (guitar); Al Sears (tenor saxophone); Tyree Glenn, Quentin Jackson (trombone); Ray Bryant (piano); Bill Lee, Milt Hinton (bass); Osie Johnson, Sticks Evans, Belton Evans (drums).
Producers: John Hammond, Robert Mersey, Bobby Scott, Clyde Otis, Al Kasha.
Compilation producer: John Snyder.
Recorded between 1960 & 1964. Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
This two-disc set celebrates an often overlooked or wrongly dismissed period of Aretha Franklin's career. Prior to signing with Atlantic in 1966, she spent the first half of the '60s recording for Columbia Records. A variety of musical directions were pursued by the label, showing that while perhaps there wasn't a consensus or about how to best present the young singer, her talents were undeniably enormous. From pop and show tunes to Gospel, Aretha regularly demonstrated herself to be more than equal to all of it--in fact she often turned fair to middling material into something greater by filtering it through her powerfully evocative voice. This is a smartly assembled anthology that makes a strong and clear statement about a then-emerging star who went on to be one of the preeminent singers in the second half of the 20th century.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Aretha Franklin

Product Info

  • UPC: 074644851526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)