Herbie Hancock V.S.O.P. Live Under The Sky (2-CD)

V.S.O.P. Live Under The Sky (2-CD)
8 ratings
Only 8 copies left
Price: $15.49
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.50 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32A9H
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.124
4 stars out of 5 - "The music was a fierce post-bop/free-bop explosion with particularly incendiary interplay between Hubbard and drummer Tony Williams."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Opening
  • 2.Eye Of The Hurricane
  • 3.Tear Drop
  • 4.Domo
  • 5.Para Oriente
  • 6.Pee Wee
  • 7.One Of Another Kind
  • 8.Fragile

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Opening
  • 2.Eye Of The Hurricane
  • 3.Tear Drop
  • 4.Domo
  • 5.Para Oriente
  • 6.Pee Wee
  • 7.One Of Another Kind
  • 8.Fragile
  • 9.Stella By Starlight
  • 10.On Green Dolphin Street

Product Description:

Personnel: Herbie Hancock (piano); Herbie Hancock; Ron Carter (double bass); Tony Williams (drums); Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone); Freddie Hubbard (trumpet).
Liner Note Authors: Herbie Hancock; Bob Belden.
Recording information: Denon Colosseum, Tokyo, Japan (07/26/1979-07/27/1979).
Photographers: Max Hellweg; Veryl Oakland; Herbert Greene; Jan Persson; Jon Sievert.
If you're looking for some potent jazz, look no further. Pianist Herbie Hancock's V.S.O.P. - LIVE UNDER THE SKY is about as heavy as it gets. This release features the legendary mid-1960s Miles Davis lineup, minus Davis, of course. In the great trumpeter's stead, however, is the fiery Freddie Hubbard.
Recorded live in Japan during the summer of 1979, this double album features Hancock and his group combining the funky groove of hard-bop with the seeming lawlessness of '70s fusion. No one player outshines another on this record, though many of the sparks that ignite the music come from drummer Tony Williams, who swings elegantly, but fills the gaps in between phrases with thunderous tom-tom rolls and piercing cymbal smashes, his playing spurring each soloist on to higher vistas. Even though most of this material is hard-hitting, there is some sensitivity on LIVE UNDER THE SKY, too. For example, bassist Ron Carter's tune "Tear Drop" is dark and subtle. On this selection, Carter's bass solo is abstract yet easy to follow. Towards the end of the chorus, the drums fade out, leaving room for Carter and Hancock to create an intimate musical dialogue. (Note: The entire second disc of the 2004 reissue consists of previously unreleased performances.)

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Herbie Hancock

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 101,868
  • UPC: 696998716520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)