Mahalia Jackson Gospels, Spirituals & Hymns, Volume 2 (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Gospels, Spirituals & Hymns, Volume 2 (2-CD)
10% OFF
Rating 4.4
5 ratings
List Price: $15.98
SALE PRICE: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  CBS 65597

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 18, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Sony

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Walk In Jerusalem
  • 2.I Have A Friend Above All Others
  • 3.Tell The World About This
  • 4.It Took A Miracle
  • 5.I Don't Want To Be Lost
  • 6.Were You There?
  • 7.What Manner Of Man Is This
  • 8.I'm Glad About It
  • 9.There Is A Balm In Gilead
  • 10.How I Got Over
  • 11.I've Been Buked
  • 12.I Love The Lord
  • 13.Come On Up To Bright Glory
  • 14.God Is So Good (To Me)
  • 15.Just A Little While To Stay Here
  • 16.In Times Like These
  • 17.How Great Thou Art
  • 18.Let The Church Roll On

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.It Don't Cost Very Much
  • 2.To Me It's So Wonderful
  • 3.When I Wake Up In Glory
  • 4.I Want My Crown
  • 5.Speak Lord Jesus
  • 6.He Calmed The Ocean
  • 7.I Couldn't Keep It To Myself
  • 8.Then The Answer Came
  • 9.The Love Of God
  • 10.He's Right On Time
  • 11.Have You Any Time For Jesus
  • 12.Sign Of The Judgement
  • 13.No Other Help I Know
  • 14.Medley: Summertime (From Porgy & Bess)/Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child
  • 15.When The Saints Go Marching In
  • 16.My Desire
  • 17.I'm On My Way
  • 18.The Lord's Prayer

Product Description:

Included with this 2 disc box set is a 20-page booklet with liner notes and rare photos.
Included with this 2 disc box set is a 20-page booklet with liner notes and rare photos.
Personnel: Mahalia Jackson (vocals); A. Hendrickson, Herb Ellis, Art Ryerson (guitar); Edward David Robinson (piano, organ); Mildred Falls (piano); Ralph Jones , A. Goodson, Alfred Miller, B. Preston, Harold Smith, Lilton Mitchell (organ); Gus Johnson , J. Allen Williams, Jr., Hubert Anderson, Shelly Manne, Norris "Bunny" Shawker (drums).
Liner Note Author: Horace Clarence Boyer.
Recording information: 11/22/1954-01/31/1969.
Ensemble: Falls-Jones Ensemble.
Arranger: Mahalia Jackson.
The companion to the first double-disc Gospels, Spirituals, & Hymns is an equally compelling, masterful collection of Mahalia Jackson recordings, comprised of 36 songs (including five live tracks) recorded between 1954 and 1969. Both volumes, then, come as close as possible to being the definitive Mahalia Jackson collection. Listening to these recordings is like taking a class in American music history -- Louisiana-born Mahalia Jackson became gospel music's world ambassador, and one can't help but hear traces of rock, doo wop, soul, and blues in these recordings. Highlights include the masterful "How I Got Over," the soaring "How Great Thou Art," and "The Love of God," the gentle "God Is So Good (To Me)," "When I Wake Up in Glory," the hand-clappin' "When the Saints Go Marching In," her earth-shattering medley of "Summertime" and "Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child," and her incomparable live rendition of "The Lord's Prayer." This stellar set is a must for any fan of Mahalia Jackson, gospel music, or, for that matter, good, compelling, soul-stirring music, period. ~ Jose F. Promis

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Mahalia Jackson

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 35,375
  • UPC: 074646559727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: