Pete Seeger A Link In The Chain (2-CD)

A Link In The Chain (2-CD)
7 ratings
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  34QKK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/11/96, p.93
"...Seeger may be a rigid purist and a less-than-virtuosic banjoist, but these recordings are one of the Left's most enduring legacies." - Rating: A-

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Interlude #1: Living In The Country
  • Buy for $0.992.My Oklahoma Home Blowed Away
  • Buy for $0.993.Get Up And Go
  • Buy for $0.994.Oh, Had I A Golden Thread
  • Buy for $0.995.Never Wed An Old Man
  • Buy for $0.996.Queen Anne Front
  • Buy for $0.997.Cryderville Jail
  • Buy for $0.998.Waist Deep In The Big Muddy
  • Buy for $0.999.Interlude #2: This Land Is Your Land
  • Buy for $0.9910.Draft Dodger Rag
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Pill
  • Buy for $0.9912.Where Have All The Flowers Gone?
  • Buy for $0.9913.My Name Is Liza Kalvelage
  • Buy for $0.9914.Turn? Turn? Turn? (To Everything There Is A Season)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Guantanamera
  • Buy for $0.9916.Last Train To Nuremberg
  • Buy for $0.9917.Keep Your Eyes On The Prize
  • Buy for $0.9918.Oh, Freedom
  • Buy for $0.9919.We Shall Overcome

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.691.Interlude #3: Coal Creek March
  • Buy for $0.692.Pretty Boy Floyd
  • Buy for $0.993.Hobo's Lullaby
  • Buy for $0.994.Aimee Semple McPherson
  • Buy for $0.995.The Cowboy's Lament
  • Buy for $0.996.Jesse James
  • Buy for $0.997.Belle Starr
  • Buy for $0.698.Harry Sims
  • Buy for $0.999.Mrs. McGrath
  • Buy for $0.9910.Jay Gould's Daughter
  • Buy for $0.6911.Interlude #4: Nameless Lick
  • Buy for $0.9912.What Did You Learn In School Today?
  • Buy for $0.9913.Henry My Son
  • Buy for $0.9914.Put Your Finger In The Air
  • Buy for $0.9915.Michael Row The Boat Ashore
  • Buy for $0.9916.This Old Car
  • Buy for $0.9917.Be Kind To Your Parents
  • Buy for $0.9918.Cumberland Mountain Bear Chase
  • Buy for $0.9919.This Land Is Your Land

Product Description:

A LINK IN THE CHAIN is part of Columbia/Legacy's Common Chord series.
Personnel: Pete Seeger (vocals, guitar, banjo); Fred Hellerman, Ramblin' Jack Elliott (vocals, guitar); Ed McCurdy (vocals, banjo); Sandy Bull (vocals).
Producers: Jonh Hammond, Tom Wilson, Goddard Lieberson, Mike Berniker.
Compilation producer: Lawrence Cohn.
Recorded between 1961 & 1971. Includes liner notes by Dave Marsh.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Pete Seeger (vocals, guitar, 12-string guitar, banjo); Fred Hellerman, Ramblin' Jack Elliott (vocals, guitar); Ed McCurdy (vocals, banjo); Sandy Bull (guitar).
Liner Note Authors: Dave Marsh ; Fred Hellerman; Lawrence Cohn; Peter Yarrow; Anthony Seeger; Ronnie Gilbert; Joan Baez.
Recording information: Village Gate, New York, NY (04/30/1961-04/12/1971).
Photographers: David Gahr; Arlo Guthrie.
The two-disc, 38-track compilation A LINK IN THE CHAIN splits Pete Seeger's long and prolific career into two thematic sections. Disc one collects many of Seeger's best-known topical songs and social anthems, opening with the Dust Bowl ballad "My Oklahoma Home Blowed Away" and ending with the passionate civil rights anthem "We Shall Overcome." Even decades after these songs were recorded, they still wield remarkable power, particularly the allegorical "Waist Deep in the Big Muddy" and the hymn-like "Turn! Turn! Turn!"
Disc two features ballads and story songs based on figures both historical ("Aimee Semple McPherson," "Pretty Boy Floyd") and mythical ("Jesse James," "Belle Starr"), as well as a handful of traditional ballads such as "The Cowboy's Lament" and "Cumberland Mountain Bear Chase" and singalong standards like "This Land Is Your Land" and "Michael Row the Boat Ashore." It's the easier listen, perhaps, but it's no less impassioned.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Pete Seeger

Product Info

  • UPC: 074646477229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.39/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)