Johnny Cash The Essential Johnny Cash (2-CD)

Rating 4.7
124 ratings
List Price: $13.98
SALE PRICE: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  CBS 86290

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 2/28/02, p.58
4.5 stars out of 5- "...It's the intro to pick up today if you don't have one, and further proof that he's a man for all situations - emotional, political and cultural..."
Down Beat - June 2002, p.62
4 out of 5 stars - "...The true blue American wrapped in Old Glory..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Hey Porter
  • 2.Cry, Cry, Cry
  • 3.I Walk The Line
  • 4.Get Rhythm
  • 5.There You Go
  • 6.Ballad Of A Teenage Queen
  • 7.Big River
  • 8.Guess Things Happen That Way
  • Buy for $0.999.All Over Again
  • Buy for $0.9910.Don't Take Your Guns To Town
  • Buy for $0.9911.Five Feet High And Rising
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Rebel-Johnny Yuma
  • Buy for $0.9913.Tennessee Flat-Top Box
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Still Miss Someone
  • Buy for $1.2915.Ring Of Fire
  • Buy for $0.9916.The Ballad Of Ira Hayes
  • Buy for $0.9917.Orange Blossom Special
  • Buy for $0.9918.Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.It Ain't Me, Babe (w/ June Carter Cash)
  • Buy for $0.992.The One On The Right Is On The Left
  • Buy for $1.293.Jackson (w/ June Carter Cash)
  • Buy for $1.294.Folsom Prison Blues (Live)
  • Buy for $0.995.Daddy Sang Bass
  • Buy for $0.996.Girl From The North Country (w/ Bob Dylan)
  • Buy for $1.297.A Boy Named Sue (Live)
  • Buy for $0.998.If I Were A Carpenter
  • Buy for $1.299.Sunday Morning Coming Down
  • Buy for $0.9910.Flesh And Blood
  • Buy for $1.2911.Man In Black
  • Buy for $0.9912.Ragged Old Flag
  • Buy for $1.2913.One Piece At A Time
  • Buy for $1.2914.(Ghost) Riders In The Sky
  • Buy for $0.9915.Song Of The Patriot (w/ Marty Robbins)
  • Buy for $1.2916.Highwayman (w/ Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings and Kris Kristofferson)
  • 17.The Night Hank Williams Came To Town (w/ Waylon Jennings)
  • 18.The Wanderer (w/ U2)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Johnny Cash, Bob Dylan, Willie Nelson, Kris Kristofferson, Waylon Jennings, Marty Robbins, The Carter Family, June Carter Cash, U2.
Producers include: Sam Phillips, Jack Clement, Don Law, Frank Jones, Bob Johnston.
Compilation producers: Nick Shaffran, Nedra Olds-Neal.
Recorded between May 1955 and May 1993.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Recording information: Dublin, Ireland (05/??/1955-03/05/1993); Folsom Prison, Sacramento, CA (05/??/1955-03/05/1993); Hendersonville, TN (05/??/1955-03/05/1993); Hollywood, CA (05/??/1955-03/05/1993); Los Angeles, CA (05/??/1955-03/05/1993); Memphis, TN (05/??/1955-03/05/1993); Nashville, TN (05/??/1955-03/05/1993); San Quentin Prison, CA (05/??/1955-03/05/1993).
Photographers: Don Hunstein; Urve Kuusik; Sandy Speiser; Marvin Koner.
Arranger: Johnny Cash.
In the past, if you wanted a Johnny Cash compilation, you were basically confined by licensing issues, as Cash's seminal Sun recordings weren't generally available in the same place as his more eclectic Columbia output. THE ESSENTIAL JOHNNY CASH solves that problem, tying together the various eras of Cash's career on a generous 35-track, two-disc set. Accordingly, this anthology is damn near definitive. From the raw, sparse rockabilly flavor of "Hey Porter" and "Get Rhythm" to the gospel roots of "Where You There (When They Crucified My Lord," the first disc moves neatly through Cash's early career.
Disc two documents Cash's expansion into ever more varied stylistic avenues. Countrified covers of Bob Dylan ("It Ain't Me Babe") and Tim Hardin ("If I Were a Carpenter") exemplify his fascination with folk-rock. The socially conscious "Man in Black" and the patriotic "Ragged Old Flag" perfectly display the ostensibly conflicting sides of this complex artist's sensibilities. Album-closer "The Wanderer" finds Cash collaborating with U2, filling his role as icon to a whole new generation of artists.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 124 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Cash

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 23,560
  • UPC: 696998629028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

Top ranking CD: