Blue Oyster Cult Workshop of The Telescopes (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Workshop of The Telescopes (2-CD)
10% OFF
Rating 4.4
28 ratings
List Price: $15.98
SALE PRICE: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  CBS 64163

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 26, 1995
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 11/3/95, p.66
"...any reissue with 'Career Of Evil' and later-period, power-gliding hits like 'Don't Fear The Reaper' and 'Burnin' For You' still belongs in any pop-metalhead's collection."
- Rating: B+
Q - 1/96, p.143
4 Stars - Excellent - "...Blue Oyster Cult were the first American heavy metal band and their curious blend of ditch-water dull pub rock (initially), lyrical curveballs (all the time) and musical sophistication (later) ensured them respectable American success..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Cities On Flame With Rock And Roll
  • 2.Transmaniacon MC
  • 3.Before The Kiss, A Redcap
  • 4.Stairway To The Stars
  • 5.Buck's Boogie
  • 6.Workshop Of The Telescopes
  • 7.The Red And The Black
  • 8.Screaming Diz-Busters
  • 9.Career Of Evil
  • 10.Flaming Telepaths
  • 11.Astronomy
  • 12.Subhuman
  • 13.Harvester Of Eyes
  • 14.M.E. 262
  • 15.Born To Be Wild (Studio Version)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Don't Fear The Reaper
  • 2.This Ain't The Summer Of Love
  • 3.E.T.I. (Extra Terrestrial Intelligence)
  • 4.Godzilla
  • 5.Goin' Through The Motions
  • 6.Golden Age Of Leather
  • 7.Kick Out The Jams
  • 8.We Gotta Get Out Of This Place
  • 9.In Thee
  • 10.The Marshall Plan
  • 11.Veteran Of The Psychic Wars
  • 12.Burnin' For You
  • 13.Dominance And Submission
  • 14.Take Me Away
  • 15.Shooting Shark
  • 16.Dancin' In The Ruins
  • 17.Perfect Water

Product Description:

Blue Oyster Cult: Eric Bloom (vocals, guitar); Donald "Buck Dharma" Roesser (guitar); Allen Lanier, Tommy Zvonchek (keyboards, guitar); Joe Bouchard (bass); Albert Bouchard, Rick Downey, Tommy Price (drums).
Producers: Murray Krugman, Sandy Pearlman, David Lucas, Blue Oyster Cult, Martin Birch .
Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
Recorded between 1971 and 1985. Includes liner notes by Arthur Levy.
All the Blue Oyster Cult you'll ever need? Well, yeah, more or less; this two-CD chronologically arranged best-of gathers most of the band's best material from the period between 1972 and 1986. The Cult has always been something of an anomaly--brainier and quirkier than most metal bands, and unafraid to take chances, as witnessed on the potentially disastrous live version of the MC5's "Kick Out the Jams" included here. The second CD, which kicks off with "Don't Fear the Reaper," and moves on to the group's poppier material, is marginally less interesting than the first CD's mutant sci-fi metal, but no matter--taken as a whole this is a first-rate career retrospective.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Blue Oyster Cult

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 53,184
  • UPC: 074646416327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: