Donovan Troubadour: The Definitive Collection (1964-1976) (2-CD)

Troubadour: The Definitive Collection (1964-1976)
47 ratings
Hurry! Only 1 copy left Sorry no back-orders
SALE: $15.49
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.50 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  34QER
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 9/11/92, p.90
" a summary of a distinctive and often wonderful artist, this 44-cut [collection] is worth hearing..." - Rating: B-
Q - 10/94, p.130
3 Stars - Good - "...judging only what's been did rather than what's been hid, this isn't a bad box after all..."
Musician - 12/92, p.99
"...Donovan's music remains among the most gorgeous and ornate of the psychedelic era..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.London Town
  • 2.Codine
  • 3.Catch The Wind
  • 4.Universal Soldier
  • 5.Colours
  • 6.Sunshine Superman
  • 7.Season of The Witch
  • 8.The Trip
  • 9.Guinevere
  • 10.Breezes of Patchulie
  • 11.Museum
  • 12.Super Lungs
  • 13.Mellow Yellow
  • 14.Writer In The Sun
  • 15.Sand and Foam
  • 16.Sunny South Kensington
  • 17.Epistle To Dippy
  • 18.There Is A Mountain
  • 19.Wear Your Love Like Heaven
  • 20.Oh Gosh
  • 21.The Tinker and The Crab
  • 22.Poor Cow

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Hurdy Gurdy Man
  • 2.Jennifer Juniper
  • 3.Teen Angel
  • 4.Lalena
  • 5.To Susan On The West Coast Waiting
  • 6.Atlantis
  • 7.Barabajagal
  • 8.Happiness Runs
  • 9.Celia of The Seals
  • 10.Riki Tiki Tavi
  • 11.Clara Clairvoyant
  • 12.Roots of Oak
  • 13.Riki Tiki Tavi (Previously Unreleased Version)
  • 14.Maria Magenta
  • 15.Cosmic Wheels
  • 16.I Like You
  • 17.Yellow Star
  • 18.Rock and Roll Souljer
  • 19.The Quest
  • 20.Age of Treason
  • 21.What The Soul Desires
  • 22.Dark - Eyed Blue Jean Angel

Product Description:

TROUBADOUR is a collection of hits, demos and previously-unreleased tracks. Initial pressings came in a special "keeper box." As of October 1996 it is available in a standard double-CD jewel box.
Personnel includes: Donovan Leitch (vocals, guitar, harp, banjo, harmonica); Mike O'Neil (vocals, piano, keyboards); Jimmy Page, Jeff Beck, Allan Holdsworth, Eric Ford (guitar); Shawn Phillips (sitar, bouzouki); London Philharmonic, Royal Philharmonic (strings); Tom Scott (recorder); Jack Emblou (accordion); Charlie Rose, Ronnie Ross (horns); David Foster (piano, synthesizer); Nicky Hopkins, David Paul Briggs (keyboards); John Paul Jones, Ron Wood, Clive Chaman, Brian Locking, Spike Healey, Bobby Ray, Allen Spenner (bass); Jim Keltner, John Bonham, Kenny Buttrey, Denny Seiweill, Cozy Powell, Tony Newman (drums); Madeline Bell, Suzi Quatro, Leslie Duncan, Graham Nash, Don & friends, Valerie Carrington, Jill Utting, Gaynor Stewart, Julie Forsythe, Leslie Ash, John McCartney, Lesley Fyson, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Ginger Holladay, Mary Holladay, Lea Jane Berinati, Florence Warner, Byron Warner (background vocals).
Producers includes: Donovan Leitch, Terry Kennedy, Peter Eden, Michael Peter Hayes, Geoff Stephens.
Includes liner notes by Brian Hogg and Derek Taylor.
Personnel: Donovan (vocals, whistling, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, banjo, harp, harmonica, programming); Mike Thomson (vocals, guitar); Mike O'Neill (vocals, piano); John Candy Carr (vocals, drums); Mike McCartney, Graham Nash, Gaynor Stewart, Lesley Duncan (vocals, background vocals); Julie Forsythe, John McCarthy (vocals); Valerie Carrington, Jill Utting (soprano); Johnny Christopher (guitar, electric guitar); Henry McCullough, Jay Graydon (guitar); Eric Leese, Eric Ford, Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page, Allan Holdsworth, Reggie Young (electric guitar); Chris Spedding (bouzouki, strings); Shawn Phillips (sitar); A. Friend (violin, electric violin); Patrick Halling (violin); Douglas Davis (cello); Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra (strings); Harold McNair (flute); Jack Emblou (accordion); Tom Scott (recorder); David Foster (woodwinds, piano); Danny Moss, Harrison Calloway, Jr., Ronnie Ross , Ben Cauley, Charles Rose, Harvey Thompson, Ronnie Eades (horns); Jean Roussel (Clavinet); Gabriel Mekler, David Briggs , John Cameron, Nicky Hopkins (keyboards); John "Rabbit" Bundrick (Moog synthesizer); Mike Carr (vibraphone); Cliff Barton (electric bass); Cozy Powell, Denny Seiwell, Keith Webb, Bobby Orr, Clem Clatini, Fast Eddie Hoh, Jim Keltner, John Bonham, Kenny Buttrey, Tony Newman (drums); Candy John Carr (congas, bongos); Tony Carr, Jim Gordon (percussion); Mary Holladay, Byron Warner, Florence Warner, Leslie Fyson, Ginger Holladay, Leslye Ash, Madeline Bell, Suzi Quatro, Lea Jane Berinati, Buffy Sainte-Marie (background vocals).
Liner Note Authors: Derek Taylor; Brian Hogg.
Recording information: A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA; American Recording Company, Los Angeles, CA; CBS Studios, London, England; Columbia Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA; EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England; Morgan Studios, North London, England; Olympic Studios, London, England; Peer Music, London, England; Quadrafonic Sound Studios, Nashville, TN; Sound Factory West.
Unknown Contributor Role: Donovan.
Subtitled THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION, 1964-1976, this two-disc 1992 compilation is just that. Starting with two 1964 demos, able but not definitive versions of Buffy Sainte-Marie's "Codeine" and Tim Hardin's "London Town," TROUBADOUR quickly skips through Donovan's underrated folk-rock period--"Catch the Wind," "Colours," and Sainte-Marie's "Universal Soldier" are it--before hitting track six.
"Sunshine Superman," one of the most daffily inspired and silly pop songs of its time, ushered in Donovan's psychedelic magpie era, when his lighter-than-air visions were set to some of the most enchantingly twee pop tunes of the era. "Mellow Yellow," "Hurdy Gurdy Man," "Atlantis," and "Jennifer Juniper" are all here, and don't sound dated in the least. Some of the more earnest later material on Disc Two doesn't hold up as well, but mostly TROUBADOUR hits all the high points of Donovan's post-1968 career.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 47 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Donovan

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 37,616
  • UPC: 074644698626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.46/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)