Leonard Cohen The Essential Leonard Cohen (2-CD)

The Essential Leonard Cohen (2-CD)
108 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.46 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $2.52 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  34QCF
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 1/03, p.131
4 stars out of 5 - "...This is a genteel, 2CD stroll through the bardic Canadian's romance-pitted past. There are riches galore..."
Uncut - 12/02, p.155
5 stars out of 5 - "...This is the kind of collection that converts non-believers..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.691.Suzanne
  • Buy for $0.992.The Stranger Song
  • Buy for $0.993.Sisters of Mercy
  • Buy for $0.994.Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbyen
  • Buy for $0.995.So Long, Marianne
  • Buy for $0.996.Bird on a Wire
  • Buy for $0.997.The Partisan
  • Buy for $0.998.Famous Blue Raincoat
  • Buy for $0.999.Chelsea Hotel No. 2
  • Buy for $0.9910.Take This Longing
  • Buy for $0.9911.Who by Fire
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Guests
  • Buy for $1.2913.Hallelujah
  • Buy for $0.9914.If It Be Your Will
  • Buy for $0.9915.Night Comes On
  • Buy for $0.9916.I'm Your Man
  • Buy for $0.9917.Everybody Knows
  • Buy for $0.9918.Tower of Song

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Ain't No Cure for Love
  • Buy for $0.992.Take This Waltz
  • Buy for $0.993.First We Take Manhattan
  • Buy for $0.994.Dance Me to the End of Love (live)
  • Buy for $0.995.The Future
  • Buy for $0.996.Democracy
  • Buy for $0.997.Waiting for the Miracle
  • Buy for $0.998.Closing Time
  • Buy for $0.999.Anthem
  • Buy for $0.9910.In My Secret Life
  • Buy for $0.9911.Alexandra Leaving
  • Buy for $0.9912.A Thousand Kisses Deep
  • Buy for $0.9913.Love Itself

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Leonard Cohen (vocals).
Producers include: John Simon, Bob Johnston, John Lissauer, Leonard Cohen, Henry Lewy.
Compilation producers: Leanne Ungar, Bruce Dickinson.
Recorded between 1967 & 2001. Includes liner notes by Pico Iyer.
Recording information: 1967-2001.
Illustrator: Leonard Cohen.
Photographer: Dominique Issermann.
THE ESSENTIAL LEONARD COHEN manages the considerable task of documenting the career of a man many consider one of the finest songwriters in the English language. Easily on par with Bob Dylan and Paul Simon in terms of sheer poetic power, Canadian troubadour Cohen started out, appropriately enough, as a prose poet before beginning a recording career in the late 1960s. His early albums, amply represented here, found him accompanied chiefly by his own nylon-string guitar, delivering dark, but often romantic, reveries atop folk-based song structures.
By the late '70s, Cohen's lyrics and musical settings had both grown more expansive, as is made plain here by judiciously chosen tracks from that period. In the late '80s, at an age when many of his contemporaries had long since retired, Cohen experienced a rebirth via the sardonic songs and spare, electronics-laced backing of I'M YOUR MAN, which gets the most space on this collection. By remaining a man apart from every era he moved through, whether the flower-power hippie days or the earnest '70s singer/songwriter boom, Cohen maintained both his vision and his credibility, making THE ESSENTIAL LEONARD COHEN indispensable to anyone interested in serious 20th-century songwriting.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 108 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Leonard Cohen

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 23,047
  • UPC: 696998688421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)