Janis Joplin The Essential Janis Joplin (2-CD)

The Essential Janis Joplin (2-CD)
16 ratings
18 copies available
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.94
You Save: $0.37 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  34QC3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/23/03, p.68
4 stars out of 5 - "...This two-disc thirty track anthology gets the balance right..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 3/03, pp.122-3
4 stars out of 5 - "...When she sang it straight she was worthy of her lineage, possessing all the dignity of Irma, Aretha, Etta and all the other heroines..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Down On Me
  • Buy for $0.992.Coo Coo
  • Buy for $0.993.Women Is Losers
  • Buy for $0.994.Bye, Bye Baby
  • 5.Ball And Chain (Live)
  • Buy for $0.996.Roadblock
  • Buy for $0.997.Piece Of My Heart
  • Buy for $0.998.Misery'n
  • Buy for $0.999.I Need A Man To Love
  • Buy for $0.9910.Summertime
  • Buy for $0.9911.Flower In The Sun (Live)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Farewell Song (Live)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Raise Your Hand (Live)
  • Buy for $0.9914.To Love Somebody (Live)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Kozmic Blues (Live)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Try (Just A Little Bit Harder)
  • Buy for $0.992.Maybe
  • Buy for $0.993.One Good Man
  • Buy for $0.994.Little Girl Blue
  • Buy for $0.995.Work Me, Lord
  • Buy for $0.996.Tell Mama (Live)
  • Buy for $0.997.Move Over
  • Buy for $0.998.Cry Baby
  • Buy for $0.999.A Woman Left Lonely
  • Buy for $0.9910.Half Moon
  • Buy for $0.9911.My Baby
  • Buy for $0.9912.Me And Bobby McGee
  • Buy for $0.9913.Mercedes Benz
  • Buy for $0.9914.Trust Me
  • Buy for $0.9915.Get It While You Can

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Janis Joplin (vocals); Big Brother & The Holding Company.
Producers include: Paul Rothchild, Gabriel Mekler, John Simon, Bob Shad, Lou Adler.
Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
Includes liner notes by Holly George-Warren.
Liner Note Author: Holly George-Warren.
Recording information: Canadian Festival Express Tour, Calgary, Alberta, Canad (12/12/1966-10/01/1970); Ed Sullivan Show (12/12/1966-10/01/1970); Winterland, San Francisco, CA (12/12/1966-10/01/1970); Woodstock Music & Arts Festival (12/12/1966-10/01/1970).
Photographers: Jim Marshall ; Daniel Kramer ; Baron Wolman; David Gahr; Fred Lombardi.
This two-disc set breaks from the usual pattern of Legacy's ESSENTIAL series by presenting a large number of concert performances, in this case, focusing more Janis Joplin's tremendous power as a live vocalist than her comparatively sedate studio appearances. Other than a handful of tracks (the immortal "Down on Me" from BIG BROTHER & THE HOLDING COMPANY, three from CHEAP THRILLS, and others), the entirety of the first disc consists of live recordings. These include two previously unreleased tunes ("Kozmic Blues" and the Bee Gees' "To Love Somebody," a la Wilson Pickett) from Joplin's solo debut at Woodstock. The second disc contains more live tracks, plus the best tunes from Joplin's two solo albums and the various outtakes that were released after her death (like the scorching performance of "Tell Mama" that was previously available only as a bonus track on PEARL), providing a well-rounded overview of Joplin's brief career.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Janis Joplin

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 37,559
  • UPC: 696998713123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)