Roosevelt Sykes Boot That Thing 1929-41

Boot That Thing 1929-41
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  E599
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Phantom Sound & Vision

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.44 Blues
  • 2.Henry Ford Blues
  • 3.Boot That Thing
  • 4.Skeet and Garret
  • 5.2 20 Blues
  • 6.6 and 9 (Three Six and Nine)
  • 7.Kelly's Special
  • 8.Nasty But It's Clean
  • 9.Highway 61 Blues
  • 10.D B A Blues
  • 11.Dirty Mother For You
  • 12.Cannon Ball
  • 13.Jet Black Snake
  • 14.She Left Me Cold In Hand
  • 15.Sister Kelly Blues
  • 16.Honey Dripper
  • 17.Night Time Is The Right Time
  • 18.Monte Carlo Blues
  • 19.Little and Low
  • 20.Drunken Gambler
  • 21.Hospital Heaven Or Hell
  • 22.Love Lease Blues
  • 23.Hard Lead Pencil
  • 24.Sad Yas Yas Yas (You Fade Away Like Morning Dew)
  • 25.Road To Ruin

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Mistake In Life
  • 2.Night Time Is The Right Time No 2
  • 3.Train Is Coming (No More Baby Talk)
  • 4.She's Long Gone
  • 5.Down On My Knees
  • 6.Have You Seen Ida B
  • 7.Journey From The Germs
  • 8.You Can't Fix It Back
  • 9.Get Your Row Out (Then You Will Understand)
  • 10.44 Blues
  • 11.She's Got What It Takes
  • 12.Yellow Yam Blues
  • 13.Eight Ball Blues
  • 14.Pistol Shootin' Blues
  • 15.Right Now
  • 16.Essie Mae Blues
  • 17.Doin' The Sally Long (Flames of Evaporation)
  • 18.47th Street Jive
  • 19.Kma Blues
  • 20.Prison Gate Blues
  • 21.Low As A Toad
  • 22.Let The Black Have His Way
  • 23.15c A Day
  • 24.Just Hanging Around
  • 25.Keep Your Hands Off Her
  • 26.Skin and Bones Blues
  • 27.Third Degree Blues

Product Description:

2008 two CD set, a chronological presentation of Roosevelt Sykes' best-known work from 1929 to 1941, starting with his first Okeh releases from 1929 and including his period with Decca in the 1930s, when he achieved his initial period of real popularity and acclaim. Included is his first release, "44 Blues" which became a classic of the genre, "The Honeydripper" - subsequently recorded by dozens of other artists and "Night Time Is The Right Time", along with tracks which he recorded under a variety of pseudonyms. It's a thoroughly entertaining overview of the core career of one of the important and influential Blues pianists and performers of acoustic Blues. Fellow Blues luminary Big Bill Broonzy is featured playing guitar on several tracks. Acrobat.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Roosevelt Sykes

Product Info

  • UPC: 824046301927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)