Laura Nyro First Songs

First Songs
36 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 24105
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.101
5 stars out of 5 -- "Nyro proves herself a master of emotional button-pushing, continually shifting gears throughout a superlative collection."


  • 1.Wedding Bell Blues
  • 2.Billy's Blues
  • 3.California Shoeshine Boys
  • 4.Blowing Away
  • 5.Lazy Susan
  • 6.Good By Joe
  • 7.Flim Flam Man
  • 8.Stoney End
  • 9.I Never Meant To Hurt You
  • 10.He's A Runner
  • 11.Buy And Sell
  • 12.And When I Die

Product Description:

Originally released on Verve Forecast (FTS 3020).
Although not released under this title until 1973, these 12 songs were recorded by Laura Nyro in 1966, when the singer-songwriter was an unknown 20-year-old from the suburbs of New York City. Verve/Forecast released these songs at the time as MORE THAN A NEW DISCOVERY, but that album disappeared almost immediately on release.
Although there's certainly a pop sensibility to songs like "Wedding Bell Blues," Nyro's vocal style is strictly out of the jazz and gospel tradition. Much more musically and lyrically direct than her convoluted later albums, over half of these songs were covered by other artists, including the Fifth Dimension--who recorded fully a third of this album!--Barbra Streisand, and Blood Sweat and Tears, whose gimmicky version of the gospelly "And When I Die" was among Nyro's first songwriting hits. As fine as some of those covers are, the originals are far superior.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 36 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Laura Nyro

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,092
  • UPC: 886972410524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Clearance CDs:

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)