Del Shannon Rock On! [Bonus Tracks]

Rock On! [Bonus Tracks]
12 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.18 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $1.81 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  34VX5
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 11, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Acadia Records


  • 1.Walk Away
  • 2.Who Left Who
  • 3.Are You Lovin' Me Too
  • 4.Callin' Out My Name
  • 5.I Go to Pieces
  • 6.Lost in a Memory
  • 7.I Got You
  • 8.What Kind of a Fool Do You Think I Am?
  • 9.When I Had You
  • 10.Let's Dance
  • 11.Hot Love - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.One Woman Man
  • 13.Nobody's Business
  • 14.You Don't Know What You've Got (Until You Lose It) - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.Songwriter - (Writer's Demo Recording)

Product Description:

Personnel: Del Shannon (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Jeff Lynne (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Tom Petty (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Richard Greene & Beryl Marriott (fiddle); Benmont Tench (accordion, piano, organ); Phil & Debi Jones (drums, percussion, background vocals); Howie Epstein, David E. Williams (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Mark Linnett; Richard Dodd; Bill Bottrell.
Liner Note Author: Dan Bourgoise.
Recording information: M.C. Studios; Posh Studios; Rumbo Recorders; Sunset sound.
Del Shannon's final album, 1991's Rock On!, is a fitting testament to a great artist who never lost what it was that made him great. The album is passionate, dramatic, emotional, and full of great songs. Most of all it has that amazing voice, and yes, Shannon's majestic voice is as strong as ever here. Check out his growling vocals on "Walk Away," his soaring croon on "I Go to Pieces," or his aching falsetto on "Callin' Out My Name." This is a singer who was still in his prime, maybe not as nimble as he was when he began recording nearly 30 years earlier but he made up for it with more gravity and vulnerability. His songwriting was still strong too. Tunes like "Who Left Who" and "Lost in a Memory" are rooted in the past but not merely recreations of glory days long gone. Country rocker "Let's Dance" even points Shannon toward Dwight Yoakam territory with startlingly good results. The only problem with the record is the somewhat overly scrubbed and processed production by Jeff Lynne and Heartbreaker Mike Campbell that leaves the record sounding exactly like every other record Lynne produced around that time, like Tom Petty's Into the Great Wide Open or the Traveling Wilburys' first. Shannon's voice keeps the record from sounding too sterile; however, he never sounds anything less than 100 percent committed and involved. This isn't some hack playing out the string; this is an important American artist who never really got his due spilling his guts yet again. Word was that Shannon was going to take Roy Orbison's spot in the Wilburys. It is a tragedy that he didn't give himself the chance to be rediscovered like Roy was. He certainly still had it and had it in spades. Anyone who doubts it only needs to listen to any song on this record. Heck, check out "Let's Dance," a bopping country tune that could have been a hit on the country charts. In fact, if you ever dug Shannon at all, you should do yourself a favor and find a copy of Rock On!. You won't regret it; chances are, you'll enjoy it. ~ Tim Sendra

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Del Shannon

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,616
  • UPC: 805772814721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)