Buddy Rich Strike It Rich [Import]

Strike It Rich [Import]
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34VKJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 28, 2008
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Jim Jam Stomp
  • 2.Carioca
  • 3.One O'Clock Jump
  • 4.Well, Git It!
  • 5.Your Father's Moustache
  • 6.I Want to Be Happy
  • 7.Cool Breeze
  • 8.Dateless Brown
  • 9.Desperate Desmond
  • 10.From Rags to Riches
  • 11.Quiet Riot
  • 12.Poontang
  • 13.Just You, Just Me
  • 14.Great Moments
  • 15.Feather Merchant
  • 16.Little Handicap
  • 17.Jatp Blues
  • 18.Oop Bop Sh'bam
  • 19.That's Rich
  • 20.Budella (Blue Skies)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Nellie's Nightmare
  • 2.Daily Double
  • 3.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 4.Goof and I
  • 5.Man Could Be a Wonderful Thing
  • 6.Donna Lee
  • 7.Leap Here
  • 8.Metronome Riff
  • 9.Little White Lies
  • 10.You Go to My Head
  • 11.Queer Street
  • 12.Fine and Dandy
  • 13.I May Be Wrong
  • 14.Robbins' Nest
  • 15.Four Rich Brothers
  • 16.Good Bait
  • 17.I've Got News for You
  • 18.Closer
  • 19.Golden Bullet

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Carnegie Blues (Air Mail Special)
  • 2.Jam Session Blues
  • 3.Royal Garden Blues
  • 4.Let's Fall in Love
  • 5.Me and My Jaguar
  • 6.Just Blues
  • 7.Sweets' Opus No. 1
  • 8.Bongo, Bass and Guitar
  • 9.Strike It Rich (That's Rich)
  • 10.Sportin' Life (Sweetie Pie)
  • 11.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 12.China Boy
  • 13.Everything Happens to Me
  • 14.Glad to Be Unhappy

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams
  • 2.Sunday
  • 3.Monster
  • 4.This Can't Be Love
  • 5.Smooth One
  • 6.Now's the Time
  • 7.Easy Does It
  • 8.Drums in Hi - Fly
  • 9.Down for Double
  • 10.Jumpin' at the Woodside
  • 11.Undecided

Product Description:

Center stage drummer Buddy Rich was given a rousing posthumous salute with the premiere release in the Limited Edition Proper Deluxe Series, a promising if pointedly finite project that was inaugurated in 2008. Rather than slim-lining, the producers of the Proper reissue label more or less opted for a return to their earlier hefty four-CD jewel box packaging while boasting of the inclusion of a booklet containing extra photos and documentation. Compositions credited to Rich include subtleties like "Poontang," "The Monster," and "Me and My Jaguar." Extroverted, domineering, and outspoken, Buddy Rich was a flashy technician whose best recordings were made with individuals and ensembles that were willing and able to surrender the spotlight (and some measure of artistic autonomy) to the consuming demands of this highly charged and profoundly skilled percussionist. Not to be confused with his similarly titled Verve LP or the 1972 RCA Victor album Stick It, this avalanche of exciting performances features Rich as the principal propulsive component of Joe Marsala's Chicagoans, the Roy Eldridge Quintet, and orchestras led by Tommy Dorsey, Artie Shaw, Stan Kenton, Woody Herman, and Buddy Rich. He is heard in extended jamming mode with Jazz at the Philharmonic all-star groups and in other settings that lent themselves to his relentlessly intense and at times explosive pyrotechnics. In keeping with the overall technique and emotional chemistry of Buddy Rich, Proper pulled out all the stops for this outstanding and consistently entertaining compilation. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Buddy Rich

Product Info

  • UPC: 805520120012
  • Shipping Weight: 1.01/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)