Mott The Hoople Greatest Hits

Greatest Hits
9 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 24318
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.All The Way From Memphis
  • 2.Honaloochie Boogie
  • 3.Hymn For The Dudes
  • 4.Born Late
  • 5.All The Young Dudes
  • 6.Roll Away The Stone
  • 7.Ballad Of Mott
  • 8.Golden Age Of Rock'N'Roll
  • 9.Foxy Foxy
  • 10.Saturday Gigs
  • 11.Sweet Jane
  • 12.One Of The Boys

Product Description:

Mott The Hoople: Ian Hunter (vocals, guitar, piano); Mick Ralphs, Ariel Bender (guitar); Morgan Fisher (piano); Verden Allen (organ); Dale Griffin (drums).
Producers: Mott The Hoople, David Bowie, Ian Hunter, Overend Watts, Dale Griffin.
Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
Recorded between 1972 & 1974. Includes liner notes by Ben Edmonds.
Released in 1975, as Mott the Hoople was slowly disintegrating, GREATEST HITS is a slightly odd representation of the band's years at Columbia. Although the band's breakthrough hit was its 1972 version the David Bowie-penned "All the Young Dudes," no other songs from that glam-influenced album, the band's biggest seller, are found here. Instead, the 10 tracks focus on the follow-ups, dryly cynical bar-band rock cuts dominated by the piano-organ interplay of Ian Hunter and Verdun Allen (later replaced by Morgan Fisher), as well as Hunter's sneering vocals and caustic lyrics. "The Ballad of Mott the Hoople" is a clear highlight, as is the oddly somber "Hymn for the Dudes" and the hard-rocking "Honaloochie Boogie." Casual fans looking for "Young Dudes"-like glam rock will be disappointed, but this is probably a purer picture of the band.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mott The Hoople

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 19,645
  • UPC: 886972431826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Clearance CDs:

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)