Roy Orbison At the Rock House

At the Rock House
4 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32C4D
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Snapper Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.92
3 stars out of 5 -- "[A] broad representation of what The Big O was about. Rockers such as 'Ooby Dooby' and 'Mean Little Mama' sit alongside country balladry..."


  • 1.This Kind of Love
  • 2.Devil Doll
  • 3.You're My Baby
  • 4.Trying to Get to You
  • 5.It's Too Late
  • 6.Rock House
  • 7.You're Gonna Cry
  • 8.I Never Knew
  • 9.Sweet and Easy to Love
  • 10.Mean Little Mama
  • 11.Ooby Dooby
  • 12.Problem Child
  • 13.Ooby Dooby - (take)
  • 14.Go! Go! Go!
  • 15.You're My Baby
  • 16.Rock House
  • 17.Sweet and Easy to Love
  • 18.Chicken Hearted
  • 19.I Like Love
  • 20.True Love Goodbye, A - (previously unreleased)
  • 21.Fools Hall of Fame - (previously unreleased)
  • 22.You Tell Me - (previously unreleased)
  • 23.I Give Up - (previously unreleased)
  • 24.One More Time - (previously unreleased)
  • 25.Lovestruck - (previously unreleased)
  • 26.Cause of It All, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 27.Clown, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 28.Domino - (previously unreleased)
  • 29.Claudette - (previously unreleased)
  • 30.Love Dumb Baby - (previously unreleased)
  • 31.This Kind of Love
  • 32.Trying to Get to You
  • 33.It's Too Late
  • 34.You're Gonna Cry
  • 35.I Never Knew
  • 36.Mean Little Mama
  • 37.Problem Child

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Clive Anderson.
Although it was technically Roy Orbison's first album, At the Rock House wasn't really an LP effort on his part so much as a cash-in effort by Sun Records in the wake of Orbison's later success on Monument Records with "Uptown," "Only the Lonely," etc. And understandably, the sound is very retro for 1960-1961, comprised as the record is primarily of the rock & roll and hardcore rockabilly numbers that he cut for Sun in 1956 (with his original group the Teen Kings) and 1957, including the Johnny Cash-authored "You're My Baby," the Orbison/Harold Jenkins collaboration "Rock House," and Sam Phillips' "Mean Little Mama" and "Problem Child." Not everything is quite as briskly paced as those two numbers, but even the ballads, such as "Sweet and Easy to Love" and "Devil Doll," and the melodic "This Kind of Love" and "It's Too Late," have an edge to them -- they stand midway between the rock & roll that was happening in 1956 and the more lush and dramatic sound that Orbison would perfect at Monument Records from 1959 onward. All of the material is fascinating as a sort of alternate-universe version of where Orbison might've headed musically, and most of it is downright bracing and exciting, though it's easy to see why it never succeeded at the time -- numbers like "You're Gonna Cry" and "Problem Child" were a little too intense and ambitious as rock & roll, with too many changes and involved lyrics, to hold that audience en masse. It was some of the best and most intense rock & roll you could buy in 1961 this side of Elvis Presley, however, and heard today the album is a fascinating curio from what's usually thought of as a fallow period in rock & roll history. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Roy Orbison

Product Info

  • UPC: 803415129621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)