Carole King Music

10 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 24544
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/20/72, p.50
"..The spirit of her music remains warm and strong, her lyrics still carry personal messages of friendship and in both emotion and melody...Carole King continues to be one of the major individual talents in pop music.."
Q - 10/94, p.146
4 Stars - Excellent - "...proving King to be a respected commercial songwriter who could perform her material as ably as others did..."


  • 1.Brother, Brother
  • 2.It's Going To Take Some Time
  • 3.Sweet Seasons
  • 4.Some Kind Of Wonderful
  • 5.Surely
  • 6.Carry Your Load
  • 7.Music
  • 8.Song Of Long Ago
  • 9.Brighter
  • 10.Growing Away From Me
  • 11.Too Much Rain
  • 12.Back To California

Product Description:

Personnel: Carole King (vocals, keyboards); James Taylor (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Danny Kootch (guitar); William Green, William Collete, Ernie Watts, Plas Johnson, Mike Altschul (flute, woodwinds, saxophone); Curtis Amy (flute, tenor saxophone); Oscar Brashear (flugelhorn); Ralph Schuckett (keyboards); Charles Larkey (bass); Joel O'Brien, Russ Kunkel (drums); Abigale Harness, Merry Clayton (background vocals).
In an era where it's not uncommon for a superstar act to wait three or four years between releases, it's astonishing to realize that Carole King wrote and recorded a strong follow-up to 1971's bazillion-selling TAPESTRY that was released before the year was up! MUSIC was a big commercial success, but anything would pale next to the ecstatic commercial response to TAPESTRY, which was still high in the charts when this follow-up was released. The generically-titled MUSIC didn't spawn any hits as big as "It's Too Late" or "So Far Away," but with several decades' hindsight, it's clear that TAPESTRY was no fluke; in its more low-key way, MUSIC is every bit as fine an album. Highlights include two jazz-tinged tracks, "Brother Brother" and the waltz-time title track, which features a remarkable saxophone solo by Curtis Amy. "Growing Away From Me" and the mournful "It's Going To Take Some Time" are closer to TAPESTRY's introspective tunes. As on that album, King includes an old Goffin-King classic, a thoroughly reworked "Some Kind of Wonderful."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Carole King

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 9,175
  • UPC: 886972454429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Clearance CDs:

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)