The Byrds Live At The Fillmore: February 1969

Live At The Fillmore: February 1969
36 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 24845
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 3/00, p.75
4 stars out of 5 - "...It is magnificent. Covering every stage of the band's career from the early pop hits through the country and folk stylings to the heavier jamming style of the final line-up..."
Dirty Linen - 4-5/00, pp.59-61
"...This disc is a showcase for White's virtuoso guitar extravaganzas and demonstrates what a potent rhythm section York and Parsons were. The emphasis was on country material..."
No Depression - 1-2/00, p.74
"...LIVE AT THE FILLMORE-FEBRUARY 1969 abjures a career-spanning approach to focus upon SWEETHEARTS-era material, thus giving the set a more-coherent, organic feel....McGuinn sings with a degree of emotion and earnestness rarely evident in his later studio work..."


  • 1.Nashville West
  • 2.You're Still On My Mind
  • 3.Pretty Boy Floyd
  • 4.Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man
  • 5.Medley: Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Seaon)/Mr. Tambourine Man / Eight Miles High
  • 6.Close Up The Honky Tonks
  • 7.Buckaroo
  • 8.The Christian Life
  • 9.Time Between
  • 10.King Apathy III
  • 11.Bad Night At The Whiskey
  • 12.The Wheel's On Fire
  • 13.Sing Me Back Home
  • 14.So You Want To Be Rock 'N' Roll Star
  • 15.He Was A Good Friend Of Mine
  • 16.Chimes Of Freedom

Product Description:

The Byrds: Roger McGuinn, Clarence White, Gene Parsons, John York.
Recorded live at the Fillmore West, San Francisco, California on February 7 & 8, 1969. Includes liner notes by David Fricke.
Originally recorded as a soundcheck for the headline attraction, a reunion of Butterfield Blues Band/Electric Flag Alumni, LIVE AT THE FILLMORE captures the Byrds less than a week after the release of DR. BYRDS AND MR. HYDE. By this time, Roger McGuinn was the sole remaining founding member and his band had moved from the Dylan-inspired folk-rock of its origins to more of a country-flavored sound due in part to the seeds planted by one-time member Gram Parsons.
Parsons' replacement, Clarence White, carried on and expanded upon the band's country legacy. White gained his fingerpicking expertise as one-half of the seminal bluegrass act the Kentucky Colonels and had been an occasional Byrds sideman since 1967's YOUNGER THAN YESTERDAY. The Byrds didn't quite fit in with their self-indulgent jam-band peers--the band was known for playing concise and crystalline recreations of its material while in concert. Standouts captured here include the self-penned instrumental "Nashville West"; a thumbed-nose retort to Nashville, "Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man"; and authentically twangy covers of songs from artists including Merle Haggard ("Sing Me Back Home") and Buck Owens ("Buckaroo," "Close Up the Honky Tonks").

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 36 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Byrds

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 1,043
  • UPC: 886972484525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

Rock & Pop: Country Rock Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)