Johnnie Taylor Rated X-Traordinaire: The Best of Johnnie Taylor

Rated X-Traordinaire: The Best of Johnnie Taylor
6 ratings
Only 9 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 23653
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.Disco Lady
  • 2.Somebody's Gettin' It
  • 3.You're The Best In The World
  • 4.Running Out Of Lies
  • 5.Your Love Is Rated X
  • 6.Stop Giving People Hard Luck Stories
  • 7.I'm Just A Shoulder To Cry On
  • 8.Love Is Better In The A.M. (Pt. 1 & 2)
  • 9.Disco 9000
  • 10.Right Now
  • 11.Give Me My Baby
  • 12.Play Something Pretty
  • 13.(Ooh-Wee) She's Killing Me
  • 14.Love Account
  • 15.Just A Happy Song
  • 16.God Is Standing By

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Johnnie Taylor (vocals, guitar); Bernie Worrell,
Rudy Robinson (arranger); Jay Graydon, Leroy Hadley, Willie Hampton (guitar); The Detroit Fisher Theatre Strings (strings); Fred Wesley And The Horny Horns (horns); Bobbie Barber, Barry Beckett, Reginald Burke (keyboards); William "Bootsy" Collins, Michael Henderson, Bob Ray (bass); Bobby Hall, Johnny Soul,
Lee Nathan Marcus (drums, percussion); Diane Davis, Donna Davis (background vocals).
Producers include: Don Davis, Wade Marcus, Johnnie Taylor, Jack Avery, Sr.,
Brad Shapiro.
Compilation producer: Leo Sacks.
Engineers include: Christopher Banninger, Pete Bishop, Don Davis.
Includes liner notes by Kalamu Ya Salaam.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
This is part of Legacy's "Rhythm And Soul" series.
The 16-track Rated X-Traordinaire sets out to rescue the reputation of the Johnnie Taylor of 1976-1980, the period that began with his biggest smash, "Disco Lady," but that found him, so the conventional wisdom goes, a Southern soul man set adrift on the disco wave. Annotator Kalamu Ya Salaam argues that "Disco Lady" is not a disco song, and backs this up by noting that the track actually was played by members of Parliament-Funkadelic. True enough, though that only applies to Taylor's debut Columbia album, Eargasm. Elsewhere, Taylor did drift, from Muscle Shoals tracks that updated his Stax Memphis sound to tracks that sounded like Marvin Gaye. The early years, 1976 and 1977, were more accomplished than the later ones, and that's where compilation producer Leo Sacks focuses, with 12 of the 16 tracks coming from then. In so doing, he ignores R&B chart singles like "Keep on Dancing" and "Ever Ready," but he satisfies the "best-of" title. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnnie Taylor

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,460
  • UPC: 886972365329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

R&B: Stax / Southern Soul Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)