Carole King The Carnegie Hall Concert, 1971

The Carnegie Hall Concert, 1971
25% OFF
Rating 5.0
6 ratings
Only 5 copies left
List Price: $7.98
SALE PRICE: $5.97 or order 10 CDs for $49.90
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SSP 24090
on most orders of $50 Sony - 10 CDs for $49.90
Brand New

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.I Feel The Earth Move
  • 2.Home Again
  • 3.After All This Time
  • 4.Child Of Mine
  • 5.Carry Your Load
  • 6.No Easy Way Down
  • 7.Song Of Long Ago
  • 8.Snow Queen
  • 9.Smackwater Jack
  • 10.So Far Away
  • 11.It's Too Late
  • 12.Eventually
  • 13.Way Over Yonder
  • 14.Beautiful
  • 15.You've Got A Friend
  • 16.Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow / Some Kind Of Wonderful
  • 17.(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Carole King (vocals, piano); James Taylor (vocals, acoustic guitar); Danny "Kootch" Kortchmar (guitar); Charles Larkey (bass).
Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York on June 18, 1971. Includes liner notes by Stephen K. Peeples.
From the late '50s through the '60s, Carole King was one-half of arguably the best of the Brill Building songwriting teams. (Mann-Weil and Barry-Greenwich provided stiff competition for Goffin-King.) Striking out as a performer in 1968, she didn't find much in the way of success until 1971, when her brilliant album TAPESTRY came out of seemingly nowhere to become, until SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER, the best-selling album of all time. THE CARNEGIE HALL CONCERT 1971, then, captures King at her height, both commercially and artistically. Recorded the week that "It's Too Late" hit #1, this 17-track set shows that fame was still a new thing for the shy Brooklynite. Her voice audibly cracks at a few points, and she rushes and stutters through her few brief song introductions. The soulful solo piano performances are uniformly excellent, though, and the surprise guest appearance of James Taylor on a sweet duet performance of "You've Got A Friend" is a highlight. TAPESTRY fans will enjoy this no end.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Carole King

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 10,389
  • UPC: 886972409023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item