John Mellencamp Trouble, No More

Trouble, No More
67 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 24803
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 6/12/03, p.88
3 stars out of 5 - "...Mellencamp injects real grit into his readings of [these] old blues and string-band tunes..."
Entertainment Weekly - 6/6/03, p.78
"...Mellencamp's hellhound yowl leaves his old pop work in the dust..." - Rating: B+


  • 1.Stones In My Passway
  • 2.Death Letter
  • 3.Johnny Hart
  • 4.Baltimore Oriole
  • 5.Teardrops Will Fall
  • 6.Diamond Joe
  • 7.The End Of The World
  • 8.Down In The Bottom
  • 9.Lafayette
  • 10.Joliet Bound
  • 11.John The Revelator
  • 12.To Washington

Product Description:

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Personnel: John Mellancamp (vocals, guitar); Mike Wanchie (acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin); Andy York (acoustic guitar, National guitar, bass); Michael Clark (pedal steel); Miriam Sturm (violin, viola); Michael Ramos (accordion, Hammond B-3 organ, field organ); T. Blade (kazoo); Toby Myers (upright bass); Dane Clark (drums, percussion); Pat Peterson (tambourine, background vocals); Courtney Kaiser (washboard, background vocals); Janas Heyt (background vocals).
Recorded at Belmont Mall, Nashville, Indiana in February 2003.
A blues album? From John Mellencamp? Well, seeing as how this would-be renaissance man has tried his hand at acting, directing, and painting (all with surprising success) in addition to record production, singing, and songwriting, it should be no great surprise that he's taking a shot at being a blues singer. If David Johansen can reinvent himself yet again as an interpreter of the Harry Smith anthology, why can't the ol' Cougar take a crack at it?
Fortunately, Mellencamp's experience in the Americana mode (see SCARECROW and LONESOME JUBILEE, for instance) gives him a headstart. Wisely, he doesn't try to imitate Robert Johnson or Son House. Instead he approaches their material with his own style, incorporating folk and rock in equal measure with the traditional Delta blues. He mixes things up a bit by taking a rather Tom Waits-like approach to the Hoagy Carmichael classic "Baltimore Oriole" and getting a bit more contemporary with a Lucinda Williams song ("Lafayette"), but the feel remains earthy and agreeably unpretentious throughout TROUBLE NO MORE.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 67 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 4.0 John Mellencamp, Trouble no more. Music Lover: from THE PALMS GYMPIE, Queensland AU -- May, 20, 2008

The world keeps turning, and John`s still singing, as good as always. Great CD.

Get Email Alerts for John Mellencamp

Product Info

  • UPC: 886972480329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)