Black Uhuru The Ultimate Collection

The Ultimate Collection
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34R84
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 6, 2000
  • Label: Polygram Uk


  • 1.Sinsemilla (Monkey Is a Spy)
  • 2.I Love King Selassie
  • 3.Guess Who's Coming to Dinner
  • 4.Sponji Reggae
  • 5.Ion Storm
  • 6.Solidarity
  • 7.Mondays / Killer Tuesday
  • 8.Party Next Door (12" Version)
  • 9.Black Uhuru Anthem
  • 10.Shine Eye Gal
  • 11.World Is Africa
  • 12.Utterance
  • 13.What Is Life
  • 14.Youth of Eglington
  • 15.Youth
  • 16.Chill Out

Product Description:

Black Uhuru: Michael Rose (vocals); Robbie Shakespeare (piano, bass); Sly Dunbar (drums); Sandra "Puma" Jones, Derek "Duckie" Simpson, Errol Nelson (background vocals).
Additional personnel includes: Junior Reid (vocals); Radcliffe "Dougie" Bryan, Bertram "Ranchie" McLean, Mikey "Mao" Chung, Barry Reynolds (guitar); Herman Marquis (alto saxophone); Tommy McCook (tenor saxophone); Vin Gordon (trombone); David Madden, Chico Chin, Dean Fraser, Ronald "Nambo" Robinson (horns); Ansel Collins (piano, organ); Robbie Lyn, Keith Sterling (piano); Tyrone Downie (organ); Franklin "Bubbler" Waul (keyboards); Wally Badarou (synthesizer); George Fullwood (bass); Carlton "Santa" Davis, Carlton Barrett (drums); Uziah "Sticky" Thompson, Ruddy Thomas, Sky Juice (percussion).
Producers: Michael Rose, Sly Dunbar, Robbie Shakespeare.
Compilation producer: Dana G. Smart.
Recorded at Channel One Studio, Harry J's Recording Studio Joe Gibbs Studio Dynamic Sound Studios & King Tubby's, Kingston, Jamaica; Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas; Includes liner notes by Dana G. Smart.
Digitally mastered by Erick Labson.
Seminal reggae act Black Uhuru found international acclaim and support with such gems as "Sinsemilla (Monkey Is a Spy"), "Youth of Eglington," and "Party Next Door."
Liner Note Author: Daryl Easlea.
Part of Universal/Hip-O's series of classic reggae anthologies, Black Uhuru's ULTIMATE COLLECTION comes closer than some to living up to such a daunting title. Almost all of these 17 tracks come from Black Uhuru's classic late '70s/early '80s lineup featuring vocalists Michael Rose and the late Sandra "Puma" Jones, two of the finest singers in reggae history. (Indeed, there are those who feel that Rose's piercing tenor is up there with Marvin Gaye's and Sam Cooke's as one of the greatest male voices in pop.)
Powered by the legendary production team/rhythm section of Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare, Black Uhuru pulled off the tricky feat of making reggae records which appealed to pop and rock fans without sounding like watered-down sell-out attempts. All of the classics, from the ganja-praising "Sinsemilla" to the religious politics of "I Love King Selassie" and "World Is Africa," are present and accounted for.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Black Uhuru

Product Info

  • UPC: 731454821629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)