Ella Fitzgerald Ella & Basie

Ella & Basie
15 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GXKG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Polygram Records

Entertainment Reviews:

CD Review Reader Consensus - Performance 9.6 / Sound 8.8


  • Buy for $1.291.Honeysuckle Rose
  • Buy for $1.292.'Deed I Do
  • Buy for $1.293.Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall
  • Buy for $1.294.Them There Eyes
  • Buy for $1.295.Dream a Little Dream of Me
  • Buy for $1.296.Tea for Two
  • Buy for $1.297.Satin Doll
  • Buy for $1.298.I'm Beginning to See the Light
  • Buy for $1.299.Shiny Stockings
  • Buy for $1.2910.My Last Affair
  • Buy for $1.2911.Ain't Misbehavin'
  • Buy for $1.2912.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • Buy for $1.2913.My Last Affair - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • Buy for $1.2914.My Last Affair - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • Buy for $1.2915.Robbins Nest (Breakdown) - (previously unreleased, breakdown take)
  • Buy for $1.2916.Robbins Nest - (previously unreleased, complete take)
  • Buy for $1.2917.Robbins Nest - (previously unreleased, complete take)
  • Buy for $1.2918.Robbins Nest - (previously unreleased, complete take)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Count Basie (piano); Frank Foster, Frank Wess (alto & tenor saxophones, flute); Joe Newman (trumpet); Benny Powell (trombone); Freddie Green (guitar); Sonny Payne (drums).
ELLA & BASIE contains 6 previously unreleased tracks.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
This is part of the Verve Master Editions series.
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Frank Foster , Frank Wess (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Eric Dixon (flute, tenor saxophone); Marshall Royal (clarinet, alto saxophone); Charlie Fowlkes (baritone saxophone); Flip Ricard (trumpet, trombone); Don Rader, Joe Newman , Al Aarons, Sonny Cohn (trumpet); Grover Mitchell , Henry Coker, Urbie Green, Benny Powell (trombone); Count Basie (piano); Sonny Payne (drums).
Liner Note Author: Norman Granz.
Recording information: New York, NY (07/16/1963/07/17/1963).
Unknown Contributor Role: Count Basie Orchestra.
Arranger: Quincy Jones.
Surprisingly enough this 1963 LP was the first time (other than a couple songs) that Ella Fitzgerald and Count Basie recorded together. (The match-up was so logical that it would be repeated many times over the next 20 years.) Fitzgerald sounds fine and, even if Quincy Jones' arrangements did not give the Basie musicians as much space for solos -- although two songs do feature a bit of trumpeter Joe Newman, trombonist Urbie Green and Frank Foster on tenor -- this is an enjoyable effort. High points include "Honeysuckle Rose," "Them There Eyes" and "Shiny Stockings." ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • UPC: 731453905924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)