Bill Withers Live At Carnegie Hall

Live At Carnegie Hall
39 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 23330
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.Use Me
  • 2.Friend Of Mine
  • 3.Ain't No Sunshine
  • 4.Grandma's Hands
  • 5.World Keeps Going Around
  • 6.Let Me In Your Life
  • 7.Better Off Dead
  • 8.For My Friend
  • 9.I Can't Write Left-Handed
  • 10.Lean On Me
  • 11.Lonely Town, Lonely Street
  • 12.Hope She'll Be Happier
  • 13.Let Us Love
  • 14.Harlem / Cold Baloney

Product Description:

Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, New York City, New York in October 1972. Includes liner notes by Clayton Riley and Bill Withers.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Recorded at the peak of Bill Withers's popularity, LIVE AT CARNEGIE HALL also finds the 1970s R&B giant at the top of his game. The way Withers and his band dig into the angular, hypnotic groove of "Use Me" is emblematic of the combination of funky intensity and laid-back soul that typifies both his music and this concert document.
Unfortunately, somewhere along the way, someone had the misbegotten notion of overdubbing unnecessary strings onto many of the songs here, keeping the listener one step removed from fully experiencing the event as it occurred. However, that still doesn't obscure the world-beating power of both the band's supple groove and Withers's singular soulfulness. Obviously a man who lives his songs, Withers is just as entertaining when delivering a monologue about his late grandmother as he is in performing the nostalgic "Grandma's Hands." And on "World Keeps Going Around" and the medley of "Harlem/Cold Baloney," his gang of stellar musicians gets an extended workout, laying into the music for all its worth, and expanding on the big footprint Withers had already made with his studio work.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 39 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Bill Withers

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 13,602
  • UPC: 886972333021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

R&B: Soul Music Categories:

Top ranking titles in the Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)