Louis Armstrong Complete Hot Five & Seven Recordings, Volume 2

Complete Hot Five & Seven Recordings, Volume 2
25% OFF
Rating 4.3
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $7.98
SALE PRICE: $5.97 or order 10 CDs for $49.90
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SSP 24306
on most orders of $35 Sony - 10 CDs for $49.90
Brand New

Related products:

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

2016 Memorial Day Sale

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.Big Butter And Egg Man
  • 2.Sunset Cafe Stomp
  • 3.You Made Me Love You
  • 4.Irish Black Bottom
  • 5.Willie The Weeper
  • 6.Wild Man Blues
  • 7.Chicago Breakdown
  • 8.Alligator Crawl
  • 9.Potato Head Blues
  • 10.Melancholy
  • 11.Weary Blues
  • 12.Twelfth Street Rag
  • 13.Keyhole Blues
  • 14.S.O.L. Blues
  • 15.Gully Low Blues
  • 16.That's When I'll Come Back To You
  • 17.Put'em Down Blues
  • 18.Ory's Creole Trombone
  • 19.The Last Time
  • 20.Struttin' With Some Barbecue
  • 21.Got No Blues
  • 22.Once In A While

Product Description:

Personnel: Louis Armstrong (vocals, cornet); May Alix (vocals); Boyd Atkins (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, clarinet); Joe Walker (alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Albert Washington (tenor saxophone); Bill Wilson (cornet); Honore Dutrey, Edward "Kid" Ory, Harry Clark, John Thomas (trombone); Pete Briggs (tuba); Johnny Dodds (clarinet); Earl Hines, Lil Hardin Armstrong (piano); Rip Bassett, Johnny St. Cyr (banjo); Warren "Baby" Dodds, Tubby Hall (drums).
Producers: Richard M. Jones, Tommy Rockwell.
Compilation producer: Michael Brooks.
Recorded between November 1926 and December 1927. Includes liner notes by Gary Giddens.
These historic recordings form the foundation for much of modern jazz as we know it. Louis Armstrong had been developing his musical ideas since first meeting and playing with King Oliver in New Orleans in 1917. After making a stunning debut with Fletcher Henderson's orchestra in New York, he had moved to Chicago with the encouragement of his wife, Lillian, to capitalize on his success and start his own group. It's easy to see what the fuss was all about; Armstrong's playing on these recordings is nothing short of stunning, soaring with energy and confidence on tracks like "Weary Blues" and "Potato Head Blues," while his vocals on "Struttin' with Some Barbeque" show the nascent talent that would stand him in good stead in later years on recordings like "Hello Dolly" and "Mack the Knife."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Louis Armstrong

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 12,131
  • UPC: 886972430621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Jazz Instrument: Trumpet Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)